Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Bishop's Gaiters - 1997-98 Season

Head Coach:Rod Gilpin (5th season)
Other staff: Jamie Forsythe (Assistant Coach), Toni Kordic-Gass (Assistant Coach), Steve King (Trainer)
League:QSSF

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001162-117158.1 - 58.515-180.4551925-197858.3 - 59.915-180.4551925-197858.3 - 59.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
5Angela Smith Centre6-51Nepean, ONSt. Pius X High
6Jillian Hachey Forward5-101Moncton, NBHarrison Trimble High
7Sharolyn Higgs Guard5-92Woodstock, NBWoodstock High
8Kate Bazuk Guard5-91Barrie, ONBarrie North Collegiate
9Michelle Huneault Forward5-102Ridgeville, ONE.L. Crossley Secondary
10Courtney Romkey Forward6-02Manotick, ONAshbury College
11Grainne Masterson Centre6-23Newmarket, ONCardinal Carter High
12Cynthia Hitchcock Guard5-42Fredericton, NBFredericton High
13Melissa Lemay Forward6-21Longueuil, QCCegep Edouard-Montpetit
15Lindsey Huff Guard5-91Kingston, ONErnestown Secondary
22Leanne Clarke Forward6-03Nepean, ONSt. Pius X High

Awards presented

Rod Gilpin RSEQ Entraineur de l'annee (Coach of the Year)
Cynthia Hitchcock RSEQ Premiere equipe d'etoiles (First Team All-Star)
Courtney Romkey RSEQ Deuxieme equipe d'etoiles (Second Team All-Star)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 24, 1997Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss62-87 Winnipeg Invitational
Sat Oct 25, 1997Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss45-80 Winnipeg Invitational
Sun Oct 26, 1997Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin67-43 Winnipeg Invitational
Fri Oct 31, 1997Sudbury, ONWaterlooLoss40-45 Laurentian Invitational
Sat Nov 1, 1997Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss64-71 Laurentian Invitational
Sun Nov 2, 1997Sudbury, ONBrockWin74-70OTLaurentian Invitational
Fri Nov 7, 1997Montreal, QCMemorialLoss60-62 Concordia Classic
Sat Nov 8, 1997Montreal, QCWindsorWin56-46 Concordia Classic
Sun Nov 9, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin63-55 Concordia Classic
Fri Jan 2, 1998Waterloo, ONWesternLoss46-71 Athena New Year's Invitational
Sat Jan 3, 1998Waterloo, ONCalgaryLoss72-76 Athena New Year's Invitational
Sun Jan 4, 1998Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin58-38 Athena New Year's Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 14, 1997Lennoxville, QCLaurentianLoss52-61  
Sat Nov 15, 1997Lennoxville, QCYorkWin58-43  
Fri Nov 21, 1997Lennoxville, QCQueensLoss56-58  
Sat Nov 22, 1997Lennoxville, QCLavalLoss62-72  
Fri Nov 28, 1997Toronto, ONTorontoLoss58-78  
Sat Nov 29, 1997Toronto, ONRyersonLoss63-66  
Fri Jan 16, 1998Lennoxville, QCCarletonWin58-30  
Sat Jan 17, 1998Lennoxville, QCOttawaWin64-54  
Fri Jan 23, 1998Lennoxville, QCMcGillWin68-67  
Sat Jan 24, 1998Lennoxville, QCConcordiaWin57-51  
Fri Jan 30, 1998Toronto, ONYorkWin77-76  
Sat Jan 31, 1998Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss44-73  
Fri Feb 6, 1998Kingston, ONQueensLoss51-55  
Sun Feb 8, 1998Montreal, QCConcordiaWin56-53  
Fri Feb 13, 1998Lennoxville, QCRyersonLoss61-67  
Sat Feb 14, 1998Lennoxville, QCTorontoLoss51-74  
Tue Feb 17, 1998Quebec City, QCLavalWin65-60  
Fri Feb 20, 1998Ottawa, ONOttawaWin62-45  
Sat Feb 21, 1998Ottawa, ONCarletonWin64-40  
Fri Feb 27, 1998Montreal, QCMcGillLoss35-48  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Mar 4, 1998Lennoxville, QCLavalLoss56-63 Quebec Semifinal


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com