Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Guelph Gryphons - 1997-98 Season

Head Coach:Angela Orton (10th season)
Other staff: Bett Naumovski (Assistant Coach), Karen Gittings (Assistant Coach), Eric Stewart (Assistant Coach), Samantha Williams (Manager), Fred Gallo (Trainer), Cheryl Macedo (Trainer)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-60.571766-76354.7 - 54.514-150.4831679-170057.9 - 58.614-150.4831679-170057.9 - 58.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Ingrid Marchand Guard5-8 Laval, QCCollege Lionel-Groulx
4Gina Tatti Guard5-92Hamilton, ON 
5Nasrin Gilbert Guard5-71Mississauga, ON 
6Kristy Newton Guard5-63Niagara Falls, ON 
7Karen Arnott Centre6-05Martintown, ON 
8Julie Steinberg Forward5-81New Hamburg, ON 
9Nicole Sabol Forward6-01St. Thomas, ON 
10Julie Angle Forward5-81Niagara Falls, ON 
11Pat Marcello Guard5-91Toronto, ON 
12Victoria Sherriff-Scott Forward5-91Toronto, ON 
13Kim Van Winckle Guard5-51Kingston, ON 
14Anne Herbison Guard5-93Brantford, ON 
15Jodi Jenkins Forward5-102St. Thomas, ON 
22Rena Wesolowski Guard5-85Waterdown, ON 
23Julie Donohue Forward5-83Sarnia, ON 
24Shayna Stott Post6-01Toronto, ON 
25Nicole Hogg Post6-03Richmond Hill, ON 

Awards presented

Pat Marcello OUA West All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Oct 14, 1997UnknownWesternLoss52-73  
Fri Oct 17, 1997Toronto, ONTorontoLoss35-77 Ryerson Classic
Sat Oct 18, 1997Toronto, ONYorkWin61-42 Ryerson Classic
Sun Oct 19, 1997Toronto, ONRyersonLoss54-64 Ryerson Classic
Fri Oct 24, 1997Guelph, ONCarletonWin68-44  
Sat Oct 25, 1997Guelph, ONSaint MarysLoss42-61  
Sun Oct 26, 1997Guelph, ONMcGillWin75-60  
Tue Nov 4, 1997UnknownYorkWin73-34  
Fri Nov 7, 1997UnknownReginaLoss71-95  
Sat Nov 8, 1997UnknownSaskatchewanWin71-63  
Sun Nov 9, 1997UnknownReginaLoss67-73  
Fri Nov 14, 1997Hamilton, ONWaterlooLoss55-58 OUA Sneak Preview
Sat Nov 15, 1997Hamilton, ONBrockWin90-61 OUA Sneak Preview
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 26, 1997Guelph, ONWaterlooWin52-44OT 
Wed Jan 14, 1998Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss42-62  
Sat Jan 17, 1998Guelph, ONWesternLoss54-66  
Wed Jan 21, 1998Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin49-45  
Sat Jan 24, 1998Guelph, ONMcMasterLoss50-59  
Sun Feb 1, 1998St. Catharines, ONBrockWin62-61  
Wed Feb 4, 1998London, ONWesternLoss59-74  
Sat Feb 7, 1998Guelph, ONWilfrid LaurierWin63-36  
Wed Feb 11, 1998Windsor, ONWindsorWin59-49  
Sat Feb 14, 1998Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin53-44  
Wed Feb 18, 1998Guelph, ONBrockWin65-56  
Sat Feb 21, 1998Guelph, ONWindsorWin56-40  
Fri Feb 27, 1998Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss52-65  
Sat Feb 28, 1998Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss50-62  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 6, 1998Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss43-72 OWIAA Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 7, 1998Sudbury, ONMcMasterLoss56-60 OWIAA Consolation Semifinal


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com