Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Lakehead Thunderwolves - 1997-98 Season

Head Coach:Stu Julius (17th season)
Other staff: Bob Main (Assistant Coach), Jamie Lockington (Assistant Coach), Kendra Arthur (Trainer)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-20.857963-78368.8 - 55.921-120.6362234-210267.7 - 63.721-120.6362234-210267.7 - 63.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Staci Volkman Forward5-113Caspian, MI(Gogebic College)
5Kelly Roth Guard5-81Barrie, ONInnisdale Secondary
6Rebecca Morrison Post6-33Hampton, NBHampton High
7Sarah Langley Guard5-71Oshawa, ONMonsignor Paul Dwyer High
8Katya Masun Guard5-95Fonthill, ONE.L. Crossley Secondary
9Alicia Gunn Forward6-13Milton, ONMilton District High
10Caitlin Crooks Guard5-71Thunder Bay, ONSt. Ignatius High
12Jackie Dawson Guard5-71Barrie, ONBarrie North Collegiate
13Jennifer Burgess Post5-105Kincardine, ONKincardine District Secondary
14Angela Hrkac Post6-33Georgetown, ONBishop Reding Secondary
15Amy Pinnegar Forward5-104London, ONOakridge Secondary

Awards presented

Stu Julius OUA West Coach of the Year
Alicia Gunn OUA West All-Star Team
Angela Hrkac OUA West All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 24, 1997Thunder Bay, ONYorkWin76-60 Saxon Super 8 Tournament
Sat Oct 25, 1997Thunder Bay, ONReginaLoss81-94 Saxon Super 8 Tournament
Sun Oct 26, 1997Thunder Bay, ONLaurentianWin61-56 Saxon Super 8 Tournament
Fri Oct 31, 1997Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss52-95 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Sat Nov 1, 1997Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin77-66 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Sun Nov 2, 1997Edmonton, ABWinnipegLoss46-61 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Fri Nov 7, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin81-66 Concordia Classic
Sat Nov 8, 1997Montreal, QCLaurentianWin72-71 Concordia Classic
Sun Nov 9, 1997Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss67-73 Concordia Classic
Fri Nov 21, 1997UnknownReginaLoss70-80  
Sat Nov 22, 1997UnknownReginaLoss67-80  
Thu Jan 1, 1998Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss61-78 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Fri Jan 2, 1998Halifax, NSBrandonWin72-52 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Sat Jan 3, 1998Halifax, NSUPEIWin75-63 Sparkling Springs Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 28, 1997Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin68-56  
Sat Nov 29, 1997Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin68-53  
Sat Jan 17, 1998Thunder Bay, ONWaterlooWin68-55  
Sun Jan 18, 1998Thunder Bay, ONWaterlooLoss54-57OT 
Fri Jan 23, 1998St. Catharines, ONBrockWin93-61  
Sat Jan 24, 1998St. Catharines, ONBrockWin81-71  
Fri Jan 30, 1998Thunder Bay, ONMcMasterWin69-54  
Sat Jan 31, 1998Thunder Bay, ONMcMasterWin79-63  
Sat Feb 7, 1998Windsor, ONWindsorWin65-44  
Sun Feb 8, 1998Windsor, ONWindsorWin80-51  
Fri Feb 13, 1998Thunder Bay, ONWesternLoss42-59  
Sat Feb 14, 1998Thunder Bay, ONWesternWin69-57  
Fri Feb 27, 1998Thunder Bay, ONGuelphWin65-52  
Sat Feb 28, 1998Thunder Bay, ONGuelphWin62-50  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 6, 1998Sudbury, ONQueensLoss57-69 OWIAA Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 7, 1998Sudbury, ONRyersonWin64-59 OWIAA Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 8, 1998Sudbury, ONMcMasterWin70-56 OWIAA Consolation Final
Fri Mar 13, 1998Thunder Bay, ONManitobaLoss67-77OTCIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 14, 1998Thunder Bay, ONWesternLoss55-63 CIAU Consolation Semifinal


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com