Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Manitoba Bisons - 1997-98 Season

Head Coach:Coleen Dufresne (15th season)
Other staff: Laurie May (Assistant Coach), Carol Ploen-Hosegood (Assistant Coach), Jaenas Pangilinan (Assistant Coach), Kari Burns (Student Athletic Therapist), Crystle Kozoroski (Student Athletic Therapist), Renee Opperman (Manager/Statistician)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-50.6671158-98977.2 - 65.927-90.7502795-239777.6 - 66.628-90.7572899-247278.4 - 66.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Christina Blouw   
 Megan Dixon   
 Cheryl Jean-Paul  Winnipeg, MB 
 Marjorie Kelly   
 Kyla Koskie Shore   
 Gabrielle Macra   
 Becky McCannell   
 Ola Samborska   
 Anne Smith  QuebecCollege Montmorency
 Tara Sweeney   
 Jana Taylor   

Awards presented

Coleen Dufresne Great Plains Coach of the Year, Peter Ennis Award (CIS Coach of the Year)
Marjorie Kelly Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS Second Team All-Canadian
Kyla Koskie Shore Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Anne Smith Great Plains Player of the Year, Great Plains First Team All-Star, Nan Copp Award (CIS Player of the Year), CIS First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 17, 1997Brandon, MBSaskatchewanWin79-51 Lady Cat Classic
Sat Oct 18, 1997Brandon, MBMount RoyalWin104-75 Lady Cat Classic
Sun Oct 19, 1997Brandon, MBLethbridgeWin81-64 Lady Cat Classic
Fri Oct 24, 1997Winnipeg, MBBishopsWin87-62 Winnipeg Invitational
Sun Oct 26, 1997Winnipeg, MBQueensWin83-63 Winnipeg Invitational
Fri Oct 31, 1997Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin103-82 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Sat Nov 1, 1997Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss82-87 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Sun Nov 2, 1997Edmonton, ABTorontoLoss70-85 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Fri Nov 7, 1997Winnipeg, MBUBCWin65-62 Bison Invitational
Sat Nov 8, 1997Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin75-73 Bison Invitational
Sun Nov 9, 1997Winnipeg, MBVictoriaWin72-68 Bison Invitational
Sat Nov 15, 1997Wolfville, NSAcadiaWin74-60  
Sun Nov 16, 1997Halifax, NSDalhousieWin81-71  
Mon Nov 17, 1997Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin92-65  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 28, 1997Brandon, MBBrandonWin84-71 GPAC Tournament
Sat Nov 29, 1997Brandon, MBReginaWin86-70 GPAC Tournament
Sun Nov 30, 1997Brandon, MBWinnipegWin79-72 GPAC Tournament
Fri Jan 9, 1998Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin66-42  
Sat Jan 10, 1998Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin86-58  
Fri Jan 16, 1998Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin69-59  
Sun Jan 18, 1998Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin82-72  
Fri Jan 23, 1998Regina, SKReginaLoss82-86  
Sat Jan 24, 1998Regina, SKReginaLoss59-65  
Fri Feb 6, 1998Brandon, MBBrandonWin84-54  
Sat Feb 7, 1998Brandon, MBBrandonWin87-51  
Fri Feb 13, 1998Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss63-78  
Sun Feb 15, 1998Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin96-67  
Fri Feb 20, 1998Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss71-75  
Sat Feb 21, 1998Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss64-69  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 27, 1998Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin89-67 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 28, 1998Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin96-69 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 6, 1998Regina, SKReginaLoss72-81 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 7, 1998Regina, SKReginaWin64-57 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Sun Mar 8, 1998Regina, SKReginaWin72-64 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 13, 1998Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin77-67OTCIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 14, 1998Thunder Bay, ONLaurentianWin62-44 CIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 15, 1998Thunder Bay, ONVictoriaLoss61-66 CIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Anne Smith15  3-933.3129-27646.7104-11689.743-701137.535314835236524.3
Marjorie Kelly15  4-1233.3112-24945.045-7262.554-541087.253326077727318.2
Kyla Koskie Shore13  4-757.150-14035.745-5090.036-671037.938292363714911.5
Cheryl Jean-Paul13  10-2245.524-6835.320-2676.96-10161.2184227116786.0
Jana Taylor15  1-250.031-8237.823-3467.622-33553.7431738319865.7
Megan Dixon15  1-425.034-8341.012-1580.012-11231.517222318815.4
Ola Samborska9  0-10.019-3948.77-1741.216-24404.426317420455.0
Gabrielle Macra15  0-10.018-4837.513-1968.45-12171.1196451 16493.3
Becky McCannell9  1-425.03-1421.44-666.74-591.0111166633111.2
Christina Blouw12    4-1723.55-862.511-16272.2153524131.1
Tara Sweeney5    1-812.52-2100.00-110.2413 340.8
* Team Totals15  24-6238.7425-102441.5280-36576.7209-30351234.127925536133285115476.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com