Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

McMaster Marauders - 1997-98 Season

Head Coach:Theresa Burns (6th season)
Other staff: Ildiko Hall (Assistant Coach), Amos Connolly (Assistant Coach & Head Recruiter), Kelly Dunham (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-60.571834-84259.6 - 60.116-110.5931637-166560.6 - 61.716-130.5521752-184460.4 - 63.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Lindsay Finch Guard5-71Sarnia, ONSt. Patrick's High
 Samantha Ward Forward6-01Prescott, ONSouth Grenville District High
 Jackie Young Forward6-01Wasaga Beach, ONCollingwood Collegiate
4Kristina Nixon Guard5-92Hamilton, ONBishop Ryan Secondary
5Kerri Hill Forward5-113Markdale, ONGrey Highlands Secondary
6Tara Johnson Guard5-62Hamilton, ONSherwood Secondary
7Taryn Stratten Guard5-42Burlington, ONAldershot School
8Jennifer MacDonald Guard5-92Kitchener, ONGrand River Collegiate
9Carla Vesprini Guard5-85Hamilton, ONSt. Thomas More Secondary
10Cindy Merritt Guard5-83Burlington, ONBurlington Central High
11Nicki Brunhuber Forward5-105Nepean, ONSir Robert Borden High
12Jackie White Guard5-93Fonthill, ONE.L. Crossley Secondary
13Danielle Chabot Guard5-83Hamilton, ONSt. Thomas More Secondary
14Wendy Merritt Forward6-04Burlington, ONBurlington Central High
15Michelle Mittl Forward5-103Hamilton, ONSt. Thomas More Secondary

Awards presented

Carla Vesprini OUA West All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 17, 1997Toronto, ONYorkWin68-25 Ryerson Classic
Sat Oct 18, 1997Toronto, ONTorontoLoss65-79 Ryerson Classic
Sun Oct 19, 1997Toronto, ONWesternLoss40-76 Ryerson Classic
Fri Oct 24, 1997Hamilton, ONSaint MarysWin70-63  
Sat Oct 25, 1997Hamilton, ONMcGillWin73-59  
Fri Oct 31, 1997Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss43-54 McGill Redbird Classic
Sat Nov 1, 1997Montreal, QCMcGillWin72-67 McGill Redbird Classic
Sun Nov 2, 1997Montreal, QCUNBWin69-59 McGill Redbird Classic
Sat Nov 8, 1997UnknownSt. Bonaventure NYLoss53-105  
Sun Nov 9, 1997UnknownCanisius CollegeLoss62-74  
Fri Nov 14, 1997Hamilton, ONBrockWin68-63 OUA Sneak Preview
Sat Nov 15, 1997Hamilton, ONWaterlooWin63-61 OUA Sneak Preview
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 19, 1997Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierLoss69-74  
Sat Jan 10, 1998Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin54-49  
Wed Jan 14, 1998Hamilton, ONGuelphWin62-42  
Sat Jan 17, 1998Hamilton, ONWindsorLoss43-57  
Wed Jan 21, 1998Hamilton, ONWesternLoss46-80  
Sat Jan 24, 1998Guelph, ONGuelphWin59-50  
Fri Jan 30, 1998Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss54-69  
Sat Jan 31, 1998Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadLoss63-79  
Wed Feb 11, 1998St. Catharines, ONBrockWin67-58  
Sat Feb 14, 1998Hamilton, ONWilfrid LaurierWin60-56  
Wed Feb 18, 1998Windsor, ONWindsorWin72-45  
Sat Feb 21, 1998London, ONWesternWin71-66  
Wed Feb 25, 1998Hamilton, ONWaterlooLoss43-52  
Sat Feb 28, 1998Hamilton, ONBrockWin71-65  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Mar 6, 1998Sudbury, ONTorontoLoss56-91 OWIAA Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 7, 1998Sudbury, ONGuelphWin60-56 OWIAA Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 8, 1998Sudbury, ONLakeheadLoss56-70 OWIAA Consolation Final


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com