Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1997-98 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Tanya McKenzie McKay (2nd season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
9-60.6001055-96470.3 - 64.323-120.6572618-228574.8 - 65.325-120.6762763-240774.7 - 65.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Lara Asplin Centre6-2 Headingley, MB 
 Brooke Bender Fust Forward1Winnipeg, MBSilver Heights Collegiate
 Shawna Cook Forward6-1 Brandon, MB 
 Stephanie Dyck Forward6-2 Winnipeg, MB 
 Amy Frederickson Guard5-6 Weyburn, SK 
 Dana Harvey Forward6-1 Winnipeg, MB 
 Jill Mathez Guard5-5 Winnipeg, MBGlenlawn Collegiate
 Natalie McVicar Forward5-11 Winnipeg, MB 
 Marnie Nechwediuk Minkus   
 Erin Soroko-Drazic Forward5-11 Winnipeg, MBMiles Macdonell Collegiate
 Hong Thai   
 Heather Wedlake Rempel 5-101Winnipeg, MBRiver East Collegiate
 Tami Woodward Centre6-0 Winnipeg, MB 

Awards presented

Lara Asplin Great Plains First Team All-Star
Natalie McVicar Great Plains Sylvia Sweeney Award Nominee, Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Erin Soroko-Drazic Great Plains Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 11, 1997UnknownSaskatchewanWin70-60  
Sun Oct 12, 1997UnknownSaskatchewanWin115-66  
Fri Oct 17, 1997Brandon, MBLethbridgeWin96-69 Lady Cat Classic
Sat Oct 18, 1997Brandon, MBSaskatchewanWin90-55 Lady Cat Classic
Sun Oct 19, 1997Brandon, MBMount RoyalWin77-58 Lady Cat Classic
Fri Oct 24, 1997Winnipeg, MBQueen'sWin65-52 Winnipeg Invitational
Sat Oct 25, 1997Winnipeg, MBBishop'sWin80-45 Winnipeg Invitational
Fri Oct 31, 1997Edmonton, ABTorontoLoss69-74 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Sat Nov 1, 1997Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin89-49 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Sun Nov 2, 1997Edmonton, ABLakeheadWin61-46 Edmonton Sun Panda Hoopfest
Fri Nov 7, 1997Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin78-65 Bison Invitational
Sat Nov 8, 1997Winnipeg, MBVictoriaLoss72-76 Bison Invitational
Sun Nov 9, 1997Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss67-68 Bison Invitational
Sun Dec 28, 1997UnknownHalifax Labatt LiteWin68-64  
Mon Dec 29, 1997UnknownAcadiaWin83-66  
Tue Dec 30, 1997UnknownDalhousieLoss69-72  
Wed Dec 31, 1997UnknownUPEIWin85-59  
Thu Jan 1, 1998Halifax, NSUPEIWin76-71 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Fri Jan 2, 1998Halifax, NSLavalWin80-78 Sparkling Springs Tournament
Sat Jan 3, 1998Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin82-65 Sparkling Springs Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 28, 1997Brandon, MBReginaWin79-63 GPAC Tournament
Sat Nov 29, 1997Brandon, MBBrandonWin67-47 GPAC Tournament
Sun Nov 30, 1997Brandon, MBManitobaLoss72-79 GPAC Tournament
Fri Jan 9, 1998Regina, SKReginaWin83-79  
Sat Jan 10, 1998Regina, SKReginaLoss54-75  
Fri Jan 16, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss59-69  
Sun Jan 18, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss72-82  
Fri Jan 23, 1998Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin77-43  
Sat Jan 24, 1998Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin76-44  
Fri Feb 6, 1998Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss65-67  
Sat Feb 7, 1998Winnipeg, MBReginaWin49-48  
Fri Feb 13, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin78-63  
Sun Feb 15, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss67-96  
Fri Feb 20, 1998Brandon, MBBrandonWin75-54  
Sat Feb 21, 1998Brandon, MBBrandonWin82-55  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 27, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss67-89 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 28, 1998Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss69-96 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Lara Asplin15  10-1758.898-20348.343-6071.740-611016.730193351824916.6
Natalie McVicar15  19-8223.271-22631.476-9381.730-30604.0423644 2823715.8
Erin Soroko-Drazic15  5-1145.584-18046.729-4072.534-56906.042443923420213.5
Amy Frederickson15  3-837.513-2846.430-3585.73-20231.5253829 21593.9
Marnie Nechwediuk Minkus13  6-1833.318-6726.97-1741.28-17251.9162324 21493.8
Shawna Cook14  0-20.020-5040.08-1080.013-43564.0201822421483.4
Jill Mathez12  3-1127.312-4924.514-1782.45-15201.7222521 10413.4
Dana Harvey15  3-1030.023-6734.32-2100.020-24442.9412524 11513.4
Brooke Bender Fust15    15-4334.916-2369.611-17281.930722311463.1
Stephanie Dyck15  1-1100.011-4524.416-16100.017-16332.22152379392.6
Tami Woodward9    7-1936.84-666.73-691.0916 3182.0
Heather Wedlake Rempel9    3-1030.03-650.01-340.4416 291.0
Hong Thai1        0-111.0     00.0
* Team Totals15  50-16031.2375-98738.0248-32576.3185-30949432.930224229321189104869.9


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com