Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Bishop's Gaiters - 1998-99 Season

Head Coach:Eddie Pomykala (15th season)
Other staff: Brecon Gage (Assistant Coach), Jeff Harris (Assistant Coach), Tom Sutton (Manager)
League:QSSF

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.8001458-130472.9 - 65.225-100.7142582-237573.8 - 67.925-100.7142582-237573.8 - 67.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Joel Sherbino Guard/Forward6-6200 Woodbridge, ONAurora High
4Ryan Thorne Guard5-101755Pierrefonds, QCJohn Abbott College
12Shawn Craik Guard6-2170 Moncton, NBHarrison Trimble High
21Sam Menard Guard5-9178 Orleans, ONColonel By Secondary
22David Suzuki Guard5-101801Guelph, ON 
23Haris Bajramovic   
24Matt Hehn Forward1Sarnia, ONSt. Christopher Secondary
30Remi Aucoin Guard6-1165 Sherbrooke, QCCegep de Sherbrooke
32Patrice Lemieux Guard/Forward6-3185 Sherbrooke, QCCegep de Sherbrooke
33Rob Burns Centre6-8220 Guelph, ONJohn F. Ross Collegiate
34Dwayne Ells Forward6-3205 Lutes Mountain, NBHarrison Trimble High
40Kris Ruiter Forward6-5200 Hudson Heights, QCJohn Abbott College
42Sam Rogers Centre6-5210 Nepean, ONJ.S. Woodsworth Secondary
44Darin Newton 1 
50Andrew Carter Centre6-10260 Toronto, ONTrinity College School

Awards presented

Rob Burns RSEQ First Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)
Patrice Lemieux RSEQ First Team All-Star
Joel Sherbino RSEQ Second Team All-Star
Ryan Thorne RSEQ First Team All-Star, All-Canadian (Honourable Mention)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 16, 1998Quebec City, QCLavalWin97-70  
Fri Oct 30, 1998Ottawa, ONOttawaWin80-54 House-Laughton Classic
Sat Oct 31, 1998Ottawa, ONWaterlooWin79-58StatsHouse-Laughton Classic
Fri Nov 6, 1998Fredericton, NBDalhousieWin78-73 Eric Garland Tournament
Sat Nov 7, 1998Fredericton, NBAcadiaWin77-61 Eric Garland Tournament
Sun Nov 8, 1998Fredericton, NBStFXLoss78-88 Eric Garland Tournament
Fri Jan 1, 1999Halifax, NSSaint MarysWin85-71 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sat Jan 2, 1999Halifax, NSConcordiaLoss54-64 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sun Jan 3, 1999Halifax, NSBrandonLoss73-82 Rod Shoveller Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 13, 1998Toronto, ONYorkWin74-67  
Sat Nov 14, 1998Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss55-74  
Fri Nov 20, 1998Lennoxville, QCRyersonWin97-72  
Sat Nov 21, 1998Lennoxville, QCQueensWin83-47  
Fri Nov 27, 1998Toronto, ONTorontoLoss69-72  
Fri Jan 8, 1999Lennoxville, QCOttawaWin87-73  
Sat Jan 9, 1999Lennoxville, QCCarletonWin49-48  
Sat Jan 16, 1999Lennoxville, QCMcGillWin73-49  
Sun Jan 17, 1999Lennoxville, QCConcordiaLoss75-76  
Fri Jan 22, 1999Ottawa, ONOttawaWin77-75  
Sat Jan 23, 1999Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss54-65  
Fri Jan 29, 1999Lennoxville, QCLaurentianWin78-56  
Sat Jan 30, 1999Lennoxville, QCYorkWin57-54  
Fri Feb 5, 1999Kingston, ONQueensWin59-57  
Sat Feb 6, 1999Toronto, ONRyersonWin82-77  
Wed Feb 10, 1999Quebec City, QCLavalWin65-58  
Fri Feb 12, 1999Lennoxville, QCTorontoWin70-59  
Fri Feb 19, 1999Montreal, QCMcGillWin85-79  
Sat Feb 20, 1999Montreal, QCConcordiaWin88-79  
Wed Feb 24, 1999Lennoxville, QCLavalWin81-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Mar 7, 1999Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss55-76 QSSF Championship (best of 3)
Tue Mar 9, 1999Lennoxville, QCConcordiaWin78-75 QSSF Championship (best of 3)
Fri Mar 12, 1999Lennoxville, QCConcordiaWin76-68 QSSF Championship (best of 3)
Fri Mar 19, 1999Halifax, NSBrandonLoss60-76 CIAU Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 20, 1999Halifax, NSRyersonWin81-77StatsCIAU Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 21, 1999Halifax, NSWesternLoss73-78 CIAU Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Joel Sherbino2063131.626-8929.2109-22249.165-7784.434-761105.542464272130915.4
Patrice Lemieux2060130.112-5920.3111-21152.667-8182.734-721065.351505653030115.1
Rob Burns2058029.00-00.0102-16960.465-8675.646-901366.8433357242626913.4
Ryan Thorne2066333.110-3826.368-16142.236-5367.914-49633.145135601631829.1
Sam Rogers2042421.20-10.048-9749.532-4768.127-56834.24923497171286.4
Kris Ruiter916218.00-00.019-3652.816-2369.610-24343.8131711214546.0
Shawn Craik131027.83-1127.320-3951.36-6100.04-480.6561005493.8
Darin Newton171468.62-540.016-3545.712-2254.58-24321.915101904462.7
Remi Aucoin2032216.16-1833.313-3834.28-1080.04-18221.1292127011402.0
Matt Hehn151208.02-1216.79-3426.55-1241.75-12171.1881926251.7
Dwayne Ells10333.30-00.04-1233.34-850.03-360.640200121.2
David Suzuki201678.31-425.03-1225.014-2458.32-20221.1192826114211.1
Andrew Carter9222.40-00.04-757.10-20.03-580.95122180.9
Sam Menard9273.01-1100.03-560.01-250.00-000.01150280.9
Haris Bajramovic111.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.00000000.0
* Team Totals204001200.163-23826.5529-107849.1331-45373.1194-45364732.432937938551214145272.6


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com