Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Regina Cougars - 1999-00 Season

Head Coach:Christine Stapleton (7th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-50.7501578-118578.9 - 59.227-60.8182536-185676.8 - 56.227-60.8182536-185676.8 - 56.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Cymone Bouchard Bernauer Guard5-11  
 Bree Burgess Guard  
 Tara Lee Crosson   
 Phoebe De Ciman   
 Heather Dedman Guard5-9 Regina, SK 
 Andrea Gottselig Forward5-11 Findlater, SKAlbert E. Peacock Collegiate
 Crystal Heisler Guard5-7 Regina, SK 
 Tenille Kirkland   
 Kayla McKaig   
 Becky Poley Forward6-0 Regina, SK 
 Rumali Werapitiya   
 Corrin Wersta Forward5-10 Regina, SK 

Awards presented

Christine Stapleton Great Plains Coach of the Year
Cymone Bouchard Bernauer Great Plains Rookie of the Year, Great Plains All Rookie Team, CIS All-Rookie Team
Bree Burgess Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Andrea Gottselig Regina President's Award, Regina Women's Basketball Team MVP, Great Plains First Team All-Star, Sylvia Sweeney Award (Outstanding Student-Athlete), CIS Second Team All-Canadian
Corrin Wersta Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS Championship Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 22, 1999Winnipeg, MBWaterlooWin82-42 Midway Chrysler Tournament
Sat Oct 23, 1999Winnipeg, MBTorontoWin71-68 Midway Chrysler Tournament
Sun Oct 24, 1999Winnipeg, MBQueensWin79-44 Midway Chrysler Tournament
Tue Dec 28, 1999Regina, SKBrandonWin97-44 Queen City Classic
Wed Dec 29, 1999Regina, SKWinnipegWin70-49 Queen City Classic
Thu Dec 30, 1999Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin82-47 Queen City Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 4, 1999Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin62-52  
Sat Nov 6, 1999Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin104-50  
Fri Nov 12, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaWin84-68  
Sat Nov 13, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss59-65  
Fri Nov 19, 1999Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin93-37  
Sat Nov 20, 1999Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin91-44  
Fri Nov 26, 1999Regina, SKManitobaWin75-59  
Sat Nov 27, 1999Regina, SKManitobaWin80-70  
Fri Jan 14, 2000Regina, SKUBCWin73-71  
Sat Jan 15, 2000Regina, SKUBCLoss62-79  
Fri Jan 21, 2000Regina, SKBrandonWin84-50  
Sat Jan 22, 2000Regina, SKBrandonWin91-43  
Fri Jan 28, 2000Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss69-75  
Sat Jan 29, 2000Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin89-86OT 
Fri Feb 4, 2000Regina, SKLethbridgeWin107-45  
Sat Feb 5, 2000Regina, SKLethbridgeWin104-43  
Fri Feb 11, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss68-83  
Sat Feb 12, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryWin70-63  
Fri Feb 18, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin56-40  
Sat Feb 19, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss57-62  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 25, 2000Regina, SKBrandonWin74-36 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 26, 2000Regina, SKBrandonWin76-63 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 3, 2000Regina, SKWinnipegWin62-50 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 4, 2000Regina, SKWinnipegWin65-51 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Thu Mar 9, 2000Edmonton, ABWesternWin80-61 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 10, 2000Edmonton, ABCalgaryLoss54-63 CIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 11, 2000Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin66-53 CIAU Bronze Medal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Corrin Wersta2054027.00-00.0115-19559.095-13470.935-42773.958205203332516.2
Bree Burgess2055627.845-10542.990-20045.037-5172.524-73974.835447131326213.1
Andrea Gottselig2058529.22-1414.391-18549.240-5967.840-1051457.2564956285022411.2
Heather Dedman2046623.319-6628.859-15438.354-6780.616-27432.13868521311919.6
Cymone Bouchard Bernauer1830917.20-60.059-10854.650-6675.823-28512.82130365291689.3
Becky Poley1023723.73-837.528-6940.614-1782.419-40595.922121328737.3
Phoebe De Ciman2039019.50-00.061-12748.010-1855.643-701135.73911291671326.6
Crystal Heisler2053226.68-1844.442-8847.723-3565.716-64804.03067491271155.8
Tenille Kirkland55511.02-450.07-1450.00-00.00-110.244802163.2
Rumali Werapitiya1820411.30-70.014-4035.014-2070.08-11191.1151318112422.3
Kayla McKaig9899.90-10.07-1741.25-862.56-4101.143900192.1
Tara Lee Crosson7618.70-00.03-837.51-333.31-9101.46350371.0
* Team Totals204024201.279-22934.5576-120547.8343-47871.8231-47470535.232832439857215157478.7


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com