Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 1999-00 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Tanya McKenzie McKay (4th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-80.6001345-123067.2 - 61.524-110.6862336-200566.7 - 57.324-110.6862336-200566.7 - 57.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Tseghereda Andu Guard Winnipeg, MBDakota Collegiate
5Sara Henneberry Guard Sackville, NSSackville High
6Angela Willerton Post6-2 Winnipeg, MBMennonite Brethren Collegiate
7Jackie Presley   
8Stephanie Dyck Forward6-2 Winnipeg, MB 
9Erin Soroko-Drazic Forward5-11 Winnipeg, MBMiles Macdonell Collegiate
10Teresa Hildebrand  Morden, MBMorden Collegiate
11Sally Kaznica Guard5-8 Felixstowe, England 
15Brooke Bender Fust Forward3Winnipeg, MBSilver Heights Collegiate
21Heidi Schwartz Guard5-9 Winnipeg, MBMennonite Brethren Collegiate
22Jessica Cottingham   
 Marsha Murdock Guard5-81Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
 Heather Thompson Forward6-2 Winnipeg, MBOak Park High

Awards presented

Sally Kaznica Great Plains Second Team All-Star, Great Plains All Rookie Team, CIS All-Rookie Team
Heidi Schwartz Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Erin Soroko-Drazic Great Plains Player of the Year, Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 15, 1999Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin76-52 Bison Invitational
Sat Oct 16, 1999Winnipeg, MBConcordiaWin56-47 Bison Invitational
Sun Oct 17, 1999Winnipeg, MBWindsorWin84-54 Bison Invitational
Fri Oct 22, 1999Winnipeg, MBTorontoWin77-68 Midway Chrysler Tournament
Sat Oct 23, 1999Winnipeg, MBQueen'sWin57-47 Midway Chrysler Tournament
Sun Oct 24, 1999Winnipeg, MBWaterlooWin66-39 Midway Chrysler Tournament
Fri Nov 26, 1999UnknownGuelphWin68-23  
Sat Nov 27, 1999UnknownGuelphWin65-24  
Tue Dec 28, 1999Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin92-61 Queen City Classic
Wed Dec 29, 1999Regina, SKReginaLoss49-70 Queen City Classic
Thu Dec 30, 1999Regina, SKBrandonWin66-48 Queen City Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 29, 1999Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss67-74  
Sat Oct 30, 1999Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss44-67  
Fri Nov 5, 1999Winnipeg, MBUBCWin55-53  
Sat Nov 6, 1999Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss45-61  
Fri Nov 12, 1999Winnipeg, MBTrinity WesternWin92-58Stats 
Sat Nov 13, 1999Winnipeg, MBTrinity WesternWin62-55Stats 
Fri Nov 19, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss50-63  
Sat Nov 20, 1999Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss67-80  
Fri Jan 7, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss69-71  
Sat Jan 8, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss72-82  
Wed Jan 19, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin72-60  
Fri Jan 21, 2000Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin78-55  
Sat Jan 22, 2000Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin63-59  
Sun Jan 30, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin81-782OT 
Fri Feb 4, 2000Brandon, MBBrandonWin73-51  
Sat Feb 5, 2000Brandon, MBBrandonWin93-70  
Fri Feb 11, 2000Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin90-40  
Sat Feb 12, 2000Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin70-40  
Fri Feb 18, 2000Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss40-56  
Sat Feb 19, 2000Winnipeg, MBReginaWin62-57  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Feb 24, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin53-46 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 26, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin81-69 Great Plains Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 3, 2000Regina, SKReginaLoss50-62 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 4, 2000Regina, SKReginaLoss51-65 Great Plains Championship (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Erin Soroko-Drazic2057928.926-5944.1153-36142.476-9976.858-891477.3453851 6840820.4
Heidi Schwartz2056128.126-6440.682-18843.610-1376.97-18251.220264923420010.0
Brooke Bender Fust2041420.70-20.065-15043.329-4170.744-661105.55192316281598.0
Stephanie Dyck2036318.10-20.045-11439.554-7374.036-48844.2398378191447.2
Sally Kaznica1949125.818-4936.746-12237.721-3167.711-39502.64348495261316.9
Jessica Cottingham2025712.86-1833.325-6240.315-2365.25-17221.1311319 7713.5
Heather Thompson1014314.3  17-4339.51-520.016-23393.916311 7353.5
Jackie Presley1633821.13-1717.617-6327.013-1681.26-9150.9294239 25503.1
Tseghereda Andu2026213.13-837.520-4643.517-2181.09-7160.8281523 35603.0
Marsha Murdock3248.00-20.04-944.4  2-572.3311 182.7
Angela Willerton121139.40-20.012-3138.73-742.96-9151.21031567272.2
Sara Henneberry2044522.21-520.014-3243.811-1668.822-20422.1335633215402.0
Teresa Hildebrand9586.4  4-850.01-250.06-5111.27131391.0
* Team Totals204048202.483-22836.4504-122941.0251-34772.3228-35558329.135526335340275134267.1

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Erin Soroko-Drazic28 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western6 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Heidi Schwartz14 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western3 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Sally Kaznica9 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western6 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Stephanie Dyck8 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western4 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Angela Willerton8 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western4 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Brooke Bender Fust7 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western9 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Tseghereda Andu6 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western6 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Jessica Cottingham6 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western3 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western3 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Sara Henneberry5 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western4 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western7 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western
Teresa Hildebrand5 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western4 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western 
Jackie Presley2 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western4 on Nov 13, 1999 vs Trinity Western7 on Nov 12, 1999 vs Trinity Western


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com