Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Alberta Golden Bears - 2000-01 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Don Horwood (18th season)
Other staff: Scott Martell (Assistant Coach), Murray Scambler (Assistant Coach), Cliff Rowein (Assistant Coach), George Hoyt (Assistant Coach), Tim Maloney (Assistant Coach), Matthew Pulickal (Trainer), Dawn Caldwell (Trainer), Jenn Sandmaier (Trainer)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
17-50.7731812-153382.4 - 69.727-80.7712858-244881.7 - 69.928-80.7782959-251382.2 - 69.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
11Michael Melnychuk Guard6-3175 Edmonton, ABHarry Ainlay High
14Stephen Parker Guard6-11904Edmonton, ABM.E. LaZerte High
22Paul Marr Guard/Forward6-4210 Nanaimo, BCWellington Secondary
23Patrick Crevolin Forward6-8 Edmonton, ABSt. Francis Xavier High
24Chris Trydal Forward6-6205 Grande Prairie, ABGrande Prairie Composite High
25Max Darrah Forward6-35Edmonton, ABStrathcona Composite High
30Ryan Baldry Forward6-5200 Raymond, ABRaymond High
32Reuben Hall Post6-9210 Victoria, BCEsquimalt Secondary
33Chris Horwood Guard6-2 Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
34Alex Michalas Forward6-7 Athens, GreeceKallithea
40Clayton Pottinger 5Edmonton, ABRoss Sheppard High
42Scott Plesuk Post6-7 Ardrossan, ABArdrossan High
44Nick Maglisceau Post6-85Edmonton, ABPaul Kane High
 Kevin Petterson Post6-10220 Spruce Grove, ABSt. Thomas Aquinas Catholic (Grant MacEwan)

Awards presented

Nick Maglisceau Wardlaw Porteous Trophy (Alberta Men's Basketball Team MVP), Canada West Player of the Year, Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
Stephen Parker Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 5, 2000UnknownUNBCWin101-65  
Fri Oct 13, 2000Ottawa, ONGuelphWin91-81 House-Laughton Tournament
Sat Oct 14, 2000Ottawa, ONUNBWin79-61 House-Laughton Tournament
Sun Oct 15, 2000Ottawa, ONCarletonWin69-67 House-Laughton Tournament
Thu Oct 19, 2000Edmonton, ABMemorialWin100-76 Edmonton Journal Tournament
Fri Oct 20, 2000Edmonton, ABLethbridgeWin97-89 Edmonton Journal Tournament
Thu Dec 28, 2000Winnipeg, MBLakeheadWin86-57 MTS Mobility Tournament
Fri Dec 29, 2000Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss79-86 MTS Mobility Tournament
Sat Dec 30, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin86-64 MTS Mobility Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 27, 2000Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin90-61  
Sat Oct 28, 2000Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss67-69  
Fri Nov 3, 2000Regina, SKReginaWin94-82  
Sat Nov 4, 2000Regina, SKReginaWin97-80  
Fri Nov 10, 2000Edmonton, ABTrinity WesternWin92-65Stats 
Sat Nov 11, 2000Edmonton, ABTrinity WesternWin86-68Stats 
Fri Nov 17, 2000Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin95-72  
Sat Nov 18, 2000Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin87-67  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin92-43  
Sat Nov 25, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin68-61  
Fri Jan 5, 2001Edmonton, ABUBCWin77-63  
Sat Jan 6, 2001Edmonton, ABUBCWin95-77  
Fri Jan 12, 2001Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin76-71  
Sat Jan 13, 2001Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin70-66  
Fri Jan 19, 2001Edmonton, ABBrandonWin90-88  
Sat Jan 20, 2001Edmonton, ABBrandonLoss74-94  
Sat Jan 27, 2001Edmonton, ABSimon FraserLoss71-75  
Sun Jan 28, 2001Edmonton, ABSimon FraserWin92-69  
Fri Feb 2, 2001Edmonton, ABManitobaWin91-52  
Sat Feb 3, 2001Edmonton, ABManitobaWin90-69  
Fri Feb 9, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss55-75  
Sat Feb 10, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss63-66  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 2001Edmonton, ABSimon FraserWin81-65 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Feb 24, 2001Edmonton, ABSimon FraserWin81-66 Canada West Semifinal
Fri Mar 2, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaWin60-58 Canada West Final
Sat Mar 3, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss60-67 Canada West Final
Sun Mar 4, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss77-78 Canada West Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Nick Maglisceau1954828.8  110-15670.597-12577.637-1031407.4483146241631716.7
Stephen Parker2047223.634-7545.3104-21049.551-6875.028-42703.552234923429314.7
Patrick Crevolin2255825.46-1442.978-13159.542-6366.733-751084.95627266152049.3
Clayton Pottinger1734520.324-5742.147-9848.032-4374.47-34412.42927174181508.8
Ryan Baldry2142120.014-4134.160-11353.147-6177.016-43592.84239403251818.6
Max Darrah2249222.427-7038.647-11341.648-6870.612-35472.14764392271697.7
Reuben Hall2243119.6  57-9063.351-8063.836-48843.85515341991657.5
Chris Horwood2251423.423-7032.947-12138.823-3174.211-32432.0308156 201406.4
Michael Melnychuk2124511.715-2755.626-5745.638-5569.110-15251.2283727 91055.0
Chris Trydal1214512.14-2218.213-4032.56-1346.26-7131.114812 9363.0
Scott Plesuk131118.52-922.214-2653.85-1050.06-13191.51841021352.7
Alex Michalas11918.3  5-955.67-1450.06-10161.512133 5171.5
* Team Totals224373198.8149-38538.7608-116452.2447-63170.8208-45766530.243136935962188181282.4

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Nick Maglisceau23 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western8 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Stephen Parker22 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western6 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Clayton Pottinger16 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Patrick Crevolin15 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western8 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Chris Horwood14 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Ryan Baldry8 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Max Darrah8 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Reuben Hall7 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Michael Melnychuk7 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western4 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Scott Plesuk2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Alex Michalas 3 on Nov 10, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Nov 11, 2000 vs Trinity Western


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com