Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Brandon Bobcats - 2000-01 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Jerry Hemmings (24th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
18-40.8181828-164383.1 - 74.735-50.8753351-294883.8 - 73.737-60.8603621-318984.2 - 74.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Scott Walton Centre6-94Pitt Meadows, BCPitt Meadows Secondary (Douglas College)
10Tyrone Smith Guard6-01704Toronto, ONRunnymede Collegiate (Fort Hays State, Eastern Arizona College)
12Gil Cheung Guard6-11753Richmond , BCRichmond Secondary (Langara College)
14Charlton Weasel Head Guard5-115Kainai Nation, ABKainai High (Lethbridge College)
20Joseph Asante Guard5-102Toronto, ONBathurst Heights Secondary
22Mike Raimbault Guard6-01Brandon, MB 
24Bijan Jiany Forward6-52Vancouver, BC 
30Joshua Masters Guard6-52003Richmond, BCMatthew McNair Secondary
32Ronald Leslie Forward6-65Calgary, AB(SAIT)
34Kwasi Osae-Danso Forward6-41851Scarborough, ON 
40Donald Phillips Guard6-55Houston, TX(Wyoming)
45Chris Passley Centre6-71905Winnipeg, MBSt. Norbert Collegiate
50Carlos Martinez Post6-102Winnipeg, MB 
52Earnest Bell Forward6-65Louisville, KYWestern High (Phillips University, Pfeiffer College)
54Aaron Mitchell Forward6-45Coquitlam, BCTerry Fox Secondary (Langara College)
RSCharles Jacoway Forward6-52002Richmond, BC(Capilano College)

Awards presented

Jerry Hemmings Great Plains Coach of the Year
Earnest Bell Great Plains Player of the Year, Great Plains First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Tyrone Smith Great Plains First Team All-Star
Charlton Weasel Head Great Plains Second Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 12, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin75-70 Applebee GPAC Tournament
Fri Oct 13, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin92-82 Applebee GPAC Tournament
Sat Oct 14, 2000Winnipeg, MBReginaWin102-86 Applebee GPAC Tournament
Fri Oct 20, 2000Brandon, MBLakeheadWin86-79  
Sat Oct 21, 2000Brandon, MBLakeheadWin75-64  
Thu Nov 30, 2000Regina, SKWinnipegWin87-76 Cougar Classic
Fri Dec 1, 2000Regina, SKManitobaWin83-70 Cougar Classic
Sat Dec 2, 2000Regina, SKReginaWin102-89 Cougar Classic
Thu Dec 28, 2000Winnipeg, MBLaurentianWin92-65 MTS Mobility Tournament
Fri Dec 29, 2000Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin86-79 MTS Mobility Tournament
Sat Dec 30, 2000Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin70-47 MTS Mobility Tournament
Tue Jan 2, 2001UnknownMinot StateLoss89-100  
Fri Jan 5, 2001UnknownPresentation SDWin93-63  
Sat Jan 6, 2001UnknownPresentation SDWin88-78  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 27, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryWin90-84  
Sat Oct 28, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryWin94-88  
Fri Nov 3, 2000Brandon. MBSaskatchewanWin86-72  
Sat Nov 4, 2000Brandon. MBSaskatchewanWin89-84  
Fri Nov 10, 2000Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin79-70  
Sat Nov 11, 2000Burnaby, BCSimon FraserLoss73-81  
Fri Nov 17, 2000Brandon, MBLethbridgeWin98-80  
Sat Nov 18, 2000Brandon, MBLethbridgeWin81-78  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin80-78OT 
Sat Nov 25, 2000Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss77-78  
Fri Jan 12, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaWin68-63  
Sat Jan 13, 2001Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss60-71  
Fri Jan 19, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss88-90  
Sat Jan 20, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin94-74  
Fri Jan 26, 2001Brandon, MBUBCWin80-71  
Sat Jan 27, 2001Brandon, MBUBCWin78-64  
Fri Feb 2, 2001Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin65-63  
Sat Feb 3, 2001Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin80-68  
Fri Feb 9, 2001Brandon, MBManitobaWin79-59  
Sat Feb 10, 2001Brandon, MBManitobaWin82-74  
Fri Feb 16, 2001Brandon, MBReginaWin105-72  
Sat Feb 17, 2001Brandon, MBReginaWin102-81  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 2001Brandon, MBReginaWin102-79 GPAC Semifinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 2001Brandon, MBReginaWin89-73 GPAC Semifinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 9, 2001Brandon, MBManitobaWin71-59 GPAC Final (best of 3)
Sat Mar 10, 2001Brandon, MBManitobaWin93-71 GPAC Final (best of 3)
Fri Mar 16, 2001Halifax, NSSaint Mary'sWin65-57StatsCIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 17, 2001Halifax, NSWesternWin77-76StatsCIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 18, 2001Halifax, NSStFXLoss76-83OT, StatsCIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Earnest Bell2265229.613-4032.5154-27955.295-12576.045-1451908.6894474135641618.9
Donald Phillips2262628.510-3429.4102-20051.059-9462.852-661185.463426952127312.4
Tyrone Smith2260027.317-3844.793-16755.762-8275.627-48753.447643914326512.0
Joshua Masters2255825.420-6132.866-15143.738-5371.722-53753.44559332201908.6
Aaron Mitchell2043621.828-6642.459-11451.823-3174.223-40633.12432121101698.4
Charlton Weasel Head2255925.428-7139.461-12648.428-3873.78-37452.0547649 321788.1
Scott Walton1834919.42-1118.236-8144.444-5875.936-52884.9581239661186.6
Chris Passley2229513.45-1145.528-7636.832-4276.222-40622.83552217934.2
Joseph Asante141128.04-1233.316-4535.69-1850.02-570.516815 9453.2
Kwasi Osae-Danso4205.00-10.05-771.42-366.71-120.5414 1123.0
Gil Cheung161328.212-3534.313-3933.35-771.42-570.412122 3432.7
Charles Jacoway284.00-10.02-366.71-1100.01-010.5213 152.5
Ronald Leslie6305.00-10.04-1330.84-4100.03-250.85 3  122.0
Mike Raimbault263.01-1100.01-250.0     1    31.5
Carlos Martinez8283.5  4-850.02-366.72-020.27 221101.2
Bijan Jiany5102.00-30.00-30.00-10.01-120.4  2  00.0
* Team Totals224421201.0140-38636.3644-131449.0404-56072.1247-49574233.746235636831210183283.3

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Earnest Bell21 on Mar 18, 2001 vs StFX15 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's5 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's
Tyrone Smith19 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western4 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western4 on Mar 18, 2001 vs StFX
Donald Phillips16 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's8 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's2 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's
Charlton Weasel Head13 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western3 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's4 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's
Aaron Mitchell11 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's5 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's5 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's
Scott Walton11 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western10 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western2 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's
Joshua Masters6 on Mar 16, 2001 vs Saint Mary's4 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western3 on Mar 18, 2001 vs StFX
Chris Passley6 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western2 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western1 on Mar 18, 2001 vs StFX
Ronald Leslie2 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western1 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western 
Joseph Asante   
Gil Cheung 1 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western1 on Mar 17, 2001 vs Western


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com