Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 2000-01 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Ken Olynyk (12th season)
Other staff: Mike Dodig (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-100.5451568-157971.3 - 71.815-170.4692248-231970.2 - 72.516-190.4572467-254470.5 - 72.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Dayo Baiyewu Wing6-2170 Scarborough, ONStephen Leacock Collegiate
 Sherwyn Benn Guard5-101765Toronto, ONSenator O'Connor College
 Michael Goldfarb Forward6-3185 Toronto, ON 
 Tom Grochmal Wing6-5190 Mississauga, ONSt. Michael's College School
 Joe Heale Guard6-2170 Burlington, ONNelson High
 Ken Hilborn Centre6-6195 Coquitlam, BCPort Moody Secondary
 Anti Jaaskelainen   
 Louis Pahis Forward6-7212 Scarborough, ON 
 Ryan Pyle Guard6-3176 Toronto, ONLawrence Park Collegiate
 Tobias (Toby) Scott Forward6-4195 Toronto, ONJarvis Collegiate
 Matt Sturgeon Wing6-5193 Peterborough, ON 
 Michael Tatham  Toronto, ONRidley College
 Jonathan Taweel Guard6-2185 Richmond Hill, ON 
 Irfan Valla   
 Paul Zyla Guard6-1163 Barrie, ON 

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 14, 2000UnknownMcMasterLoss75-84  
Mon Oct 23, 2000Toronto, ONGeorge Brown CollegeLoss68-76 Raptor Cup
Fri Oct 27, 2000Waterloo, ONLaurierWin80-75 Laurier Tournament
Sat Oct 28, 2000Waterloo, ONWaterlooLoss48-74StatsLaurier Tournament
Fri Nov 3, 2000Toronto, ONCentennial CollegeWin91-67 Raptor Cup Series
Sat Dec 2, 2000UnknownHumber CollegeLoss60-82  
Fri Dec 29, 2000Toronto, ONBrockWin61-59 Ed DeArmon Tournament
Sat Dec 30, 2000Toronto, ONGuelphLoss68-81 Ed DeArmon Tournament
Tue Jan 2, 2001Wolfville, NSAcadiaLoss57-60 Stu Aberdeen Tournament
Wed Jan 3, 2001Wolfville, NSBishop'sWin71-70 Stu Aberdeen Tournament
Fri Jan 5, 2001Halifax, NSDalhousieLoss74-77 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sat Jan 6, 2001Halifax, NSUNBLoss70-77 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sun Jan 7, 2001Halifax, NSLethbridgeLoss76-83 Rod Shoveller Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 10, 2000Toronto, ONLaurentianWin79-76OT 
Sun Nov 12, 2000Toronto, ONYorkLoss58-82  
Fri Nov 17, 2000Toronto, ONLavalWin88-83  
Sat Nov 18, 2000Toronto, ONBishop'sLoss58-69  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Kingston, ONQueen'sWin64-61  
Sat Nov 25, 2000Kingston, ONRMCWin67-54  
Thu Nov 30, 2000Toronto, ONRyersonWin77-73  
Fri Jan 12, 2001Montreal, PQMcGillLoss58-88  
Sat Jan 13, 2001Montreal, PQConcordiaWin81-73  
Fri Jan 19, 2001Toronto, ONOttawaWin86-63  
Sat Jan 20, 2001Toronto, ONCarletonWin69-65  
Fri Jan 26, 2001Toronto, ONYorkLoss57-74  
Sat Jan 27, 2001Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss69-73  
Fri Feb 2, 2001Lennoxville, QCBishop'sLoss81-84  
Sat Feb 3, 2001Quebec City, PQLavalLoss75-87  
Fri Feb 9, 2001Toronto, ONQueen'sWin70-51  
Sat Feb 10, 2001Toronto, ONRMCLoss60-62  
Sun Feb 11, 2001Toronto, ONRyersonLoss54-61  
Sat Feb 17, 2001Toronto, ONMcGillWin89-68  
Sun Feb 18, 2001Toronto, ONConcordiaWin82-72  
Fri Feb 23, 2001Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss55-73  
Sat Feb 24, 2001Ottawa, ONOttawaWin91-87  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Tom Grochmal22  18-4936.7104-25940.272-10369.9 1205.561    29813.5
Tobias (Toby) Scott21  6-2326.183-19542.640-6858.8 1577.542  19 21210.1
Sherwyn Benn22  20-7925.366-18336.170-8879.5 632.95579  4522210.1
Jonathan Taweel21  26-7833.355-14737.445-6075.0 1115.360    1818.6
Paul Zyla15  16-4436.435-8640.713-1968.4 382.528    996.6
Louis Pahis22    60-14641.120-3655.6 974.457    1406.4
Matt Sturgeon22  3-837.545-9348.439-6262.9 642.947    1326.0
Joe Heale22  11-2740.735-8143.219-3850.0 602.739    1004.5
Michael Tatham14    18-3847.49-1656.2 292.111    453.2
Ken Hilborn16  6-1735.313-3537.115-1788.2 161.012    472.9
Dayo Baiyewu5    3-837.51-333.3 51.04    71.4
Michael Goldfarb12  1-616.75-1241.7   80.78    110.9
Ryan Pyle15  1-1010.02-2010.00-10.0 70.52    50.3
Anti Jaaskelainen6    0-10.00-10.0 30.57    00.0
Irfan Valla3                00.0
* Team Totals22  108-34131.7524-130440.2343-51267.0 77835.443379 1945149968.1


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com