Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Guelph Gryphons - 2000-01 Season

Head Coach:Angela Orton (13th season)
Other staff: Skye Angus (Assistant Coach), Dean Huyck (Assistant Coach), Andrea Peever (Trainer), Catherine Cabral (Trainer), Samantha Williams (Manager), Jessie Gartshore (Manager)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
20-10.9521543-114973.5 - 54.727-50.8442267-180070.8 - 56.227-50.8442267-180070.8 - 56.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Jaclyn Beitz   
 Margaret Davies   
 Kathryn Gibbs   
 Jorden Hare-Kusters   
 Angela Hrkac Post6-3 Georgetown, ONBishop Reding Secondary
 Kim Johnson   
 Pat Marcello Guard5-9 Toronto, ON 
 Vanessa Maxwell   
 Jennifer Murphy   
 Meredith Owen   
 Leanne Rowthorn Guard1 
 Mary Beth Valeriote   
 Jennifer Wenczler   

Awards presented

Angela Orton OUA West Coach of the Year
Angela Hrkac OUA West All-Star Team
Pat Marcello OUA West All-Star Team, OUA West Player of the Year, CIS Second Team All-Canadian
Leanne Rowthorn OUA West Rookie of the Year, OUA West All-Rookie Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 13, 2000Toronto, ONVictoriaLoss52-58 Ryerson Invitational
Sat Oct 14, 2000Toronto, ONYorkWin63-35 Ryerson Invitational
Sun Oct 15, 2000Toronto, ONMcMasterWin72-52 Ryerson Invitational
Fri Oct 20, 2000London, ONQueensWin62-60 Purple and White Tournament
Sun Oct 22, 2000London, ONCarletonWin65-48 Purple and White Tournament
Sat Oct 28, 2000UnknownAcadiaWin82-56  
Sun Oct 29, 2000UnknownAcadiaWin74-49  
Sun Nov 12, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss62-74  
Mon Nov 13, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss73-98  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 1, 2000UnknownMcMasterWin65-52OT 
Sat Nov 4, 2000UnknownWindsorWin63-50  
Wed Nov 8, 2000UnknownWaterlooWin70-61  
Sat Nov 11, 2000Thunder Bay, ONLakeheadWin99-51  
Sat Nov 18, 2000UnknownBrockWin62-44  
Wed Nov 22, 2000Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin82-51  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Guelph, ONWesternWin76-74  
Fri Jan 5, 2001Guelph, ONLakeheadWin105-56  
Sat Jan 6, 2001Guelph, ONLakeheadWin93-52  
Wed Jan 10, 2001UnknownWindsorWin78-60  
Sat Jan 13, 2001Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin66-48  
Wed Jan 17, 2001UnknownMcMasterWin62-50  
Sat Jan 20, 2001UnknownWindsorWin76-53  
Wed Jan 24, 2001UnknownBrockWin61-53  
Sat Jan 27, 2001Guelph, ONWesternWin55-51  
Wed Jan 31, 2001Guelph, ONWilfrid LaurierWin80-59  
Sat Feb 3, 2001UnknownMcMasterLoss65-68  
Wed Feb 7, 2001Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin85-48  
Sat Feb 10, 2001UnknownBrockWin73-58  
Wed Feb 14, 2001London, ONWesternWin57-52  
Sat Feb 17, 2001Guelph, ONWaterlooWin70-58  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Mar 1, 2001St. Catharines, ONWaterlooWin63-62 OUA West Semifinal
Fri Mar 2, 2001St. Catharines, ONMcMasterLoss56-59 OUA West Final


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com