Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Manitoba Bisons - 2000-01 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Coleen Dufresne (17th season)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
17-50.7731732-133978.7 - 60.926-80.7652619-207677.0 - 61.126-80.7652619-207677.0 - 61.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Diana Gray   
5Cheryl Jean-Paul Guard4Winnipeg, MBRiver East Collegiate
7Melissa Stoesz-Robinson 3Winnipeg, MBMiles Macdonell Collegiate
8Anne Smith  Laval, QCCollege Montmorency
9Dana Friesen  Abbotsford, BCMennonite Educational Institute
10Marjorie Kelly Guard5Winnipeg, MBDaniel McIntyre Collegiate
11Anna Drewniak  Winnipeg, MBSt. Mary's Academy
12Julie Lafreniere  Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
13Christina Blouw   
14Lynda Guy   
15Lara Asplin Centre6-2 Headingley, MB 
21Michelle Edwards   
 Tamara Antic   

Awards presented

Lara Asplin Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Cheryl Jean-Paul Great Plains Second Team All-Star
Marjorie Kelly Great Plains Defensive Player of the Year, Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS Defensive Player of the Year
Anne Smith Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 13, 2000Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin62-38 Converse Tournament
Sun Oct 15, 2000Winnipeg, MBWaterlooWin94-55 Converse Tournament
Wed Oct 18, 2000UnknownDalhousieWin82-65  
Fri Oct 20, 2000Winnipeg, MBConcordiaWin66-41 Bison Invitational
Sat Oct 21, 2000Winnipeg, MBLavalWin84-56 Bison Invitational
Sun Oct 22, 2000Winnipeg, MBTorontoWin77-61 Bison Invitational
Mon Nov 13, 2000Winnipeg, MBGuelphWin98-73  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 27, 2000Winnipeg, MBTrinity WesternWin88-44Stats 
Sat Oct 28, 2000Winnipeg, MBTrinity WesternWin89-53Stats 
Wed Nov 1, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin59-57  
Fri Nov 10, 2000Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss71-78  
Sat Nov 11, 2000Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss58-65  
Fri Nov 17, 2000Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin90-54  
Sat Nov 18, 2000Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin94-63  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryWin80-64  
Sat Nov 25, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss68-74  
Fri Dec 1, 2000Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin76-64  
Sat Dec 2, 2000Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin84-74  
Fri Jan 12, 2001Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin104-41  
Sat Jan 13, 2001Winnipeg, MBLethbridgeWin81-53  
Fri Jan 19, 2001Winnipeg, MBUBCWin76-56  
Sat Jan 20, 2001Winnipeg, MBUBCWin82-69  
Fri Jan 26, 2001Winnipeg, MBReginaWin81-67  
Sat Jan 27, 2001Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss78-80  
Fri Feb 2, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss55-62  
Sat Feb 3, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin73-54  
Fri Feb 9, 2001Brandon, MBBrandonWin77-54  
Sat Feb 10, 2001Brandon, MBBrandonWin87-42  
Sat Feb 17, 2001Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin81-71  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Feb 22, 2001Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss65-69 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 2001Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin76-69 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sun Feb 25, 2001Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin63-61 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 2, 2001Regina, SKReginaLoss60-88 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 3, 2001Regina, SKReginaLoss60-61 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Anne Smith2060730.418-4738.3130-26349.475-8885.231-811125.641734374735317.6
Marjorie Kelly2155526.44-1625.0122-27744.051-6677.349-591085.1477561115129914.2
Lara Asplin2059129.60-10.0100-21047.628-4562.279-1081879.3322342134022811.4
Cheryl Jean-Paul2255825.414-3935.977-18940.732-4472.712-46582.63197657692009.1
Melissa Stoesz-Robinson1832818.23-933.360-12050.09-1464.317-20372.13818202131327.3
Anna Drewniak2246321.0  61-12349.623-3565.749-47964.4406263261456.6
Michelle Edwards2128313.52-540.044-8949.411-1764.79-14231.11630191181014.8
Christina Blouw2233115.0  42-7456.814-1687.526-48743.44411221117984.5
Lynda Guy2023411.715-4533.329-8036.24-944.48-18261.313277210773.9
Diana Gray141269.01-333.323-5541.81-333.310-5151.120810 5483.4
Dana Friesen913414.91-911.17-2429.23-475.06-7131.4142818 10182.0
Tamara Antic1113011.81-425.05-2123.85-862.54-18222.092219 3161.5
Julie Lafreniere3279.0  1-333.3  1-451.71 41120.7
* Team Totals224367198.559-17833.1701-152845.9256-34973.4301-47577635.334641835658310171778.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Lara Asplin17 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western13 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Anne Smith15 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western6 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Marjorie Kelly14 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Lynda Guy13 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Melissa Stoesz-Robinson13 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Michelle Edwards10 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Christina Blouw8 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Diana Gray8 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western3 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western6 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Anna Drewniak6 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western5 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western 
Cheryl Jean-Paul6 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western4 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western6 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Dana Friesen5 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western2 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western1 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western
Julie Lafreniere2 on Oct 27, 2000 vs Trinity Western4 on Oct 28, 2000 vs Trinity Western 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com