Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Regina Cougars - 2000-01 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Christine Stapleton (8th season)
Other staff: Diane Hilko (Assistant Coach), Dave Taylor (Assistant Coach), Kate Stefan (Trainer), Erin Walton (Trainer)
League:Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
20-20.9091749-143379.5 - 65.130-50.8572789-224079.7 - 64.031-50.8612894-230180.4 - 63.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Heather Dedman McMurray Guard5-105Regina, SKSheldon-Williams Collegiate
5Corrin Wersta Forward5-115Regina, SKThom Collegiate
6Rumali Werapitiya Guard5-73Regina, SKDr. Martin LeBoldus High
7Becky Poley Forward6-05Grand Coulee, SKSheldon-Williams Collegiate
8Bree Burgess Guard5-114Regina, SKThom Collegiate
9Jana Schweitzer Guard5-91Regina, SKBalfour Collegiate
10Leah Anderson Forward5-111Regina, SKWinston Knoll Collegiate
11Crystal Heisler McGregor Guard5-74Regina, SKMichael A. Riffel High
12Tara Lee Crosson Forward6-02White City, SKGreenall High
13Cymone Bouchard Bernauer Guard5-112Regina, SKBalfour Collegiate
14Phoebe De Ciman Post6-33Regina, SKMiller Comprehensive High
15Rhiannon Brown Post6-22Balgonie, SKGreenall High
21Tenille Kirkland Guard5-42Regina, SKBalfour Collegiate
RSSheena Aitken Guard5-81Weyburn, SKWeyburn Comprehensive High
RSKayla McKaig Forward6-02Swift Current, SKSwift Current Comprehensive High

Awards presented

Christine Stapleton Great Plains Coach of the Year
Cymone Bouchard Bernauer Great Plains Second Team All-Star, MVP of CIS Championship Tournament
Bree Burgess Great Plains First Team All-Star
Heather Dedman McMurray Regina Women's Basketball Team MVP
Corrin Wersta Great Plains First Team All-Star, CIS Second Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 13, 2000Regina, SKRegina AlumniWin105-61  
Fri Oct 20, 2000Winnipeg, MBLavalLoss77-80 Bison Invitational
Sat Oct 21, 2000Winnipeg, MBTorontoWin82-52 Bison Invitational
Sun Oct 22, 2000Winnipeg, MBConcordiaWin85-29 Bison Invitational
Fri Dec 29, 2000Calgary, ABVictoriaLoss68-79 Calgary Intivational
Sat Dec 30, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss71-90 Calgary Intivational
Sun Dec 31, 2000Calgary, ABAlbertaWin78-73 Calgary Intivational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 27, 2000Regina, SKVictoriaWin83-75  
Sat Oct 28, 2000Regina, SKVictoriaWin82-69  
Fri Nov 3, 2000Regina, SKAlbertaWin86-75  
Sat Nov 4, 2000Regina, SKAlbertaWin76-71  
Fri Nov 10, 2000Vancouver, BCUBCWin89-80  
Sat Nov 11, 2000Vancouver, BCUBCLoss51-72  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin94-43  
Sat Nov 25, 2000Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin99-45  
Fri Jan 5, 2001Regina, SKCalgaryWin87-75  
Sat Jan 6, 2001Regina, SKCalgaryWin71-68  
Fri Jan 12, 2001Regina, SKWinnipegWin72-66  
Sat Jan 13, 2001Regina, SKWinnipegWin73-71  
Fri Jan 19, 2001Regina, SKTrinity WesternWin82-54  
Sat Jan 20, 2001Regina, SKTrinity WesternWin92-57  
Fri Jan 26, 2001Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss67-81  
Sat Jan 27, 2001Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin80-78  
Fri Feb 2, 2001Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin90-63  
Sat Feb 3, 2001Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin90-62  
Fri Feb 9, 2001Regina, SKSimon FraserWin60-53  
Sat Feb 10, 2001Regina, SKSimon FraserWin74-59  
Fri Feb 16, 2001Brandon, MBBrandonWin69-49  
Sat Feb 17, 2001Brandon, MBBrandonWin82-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 23, 2001Regina, SKBrandonWin92-51 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 24, 2001Regina, SKBrandonWin80-32 GPAC Semifinal (Best of 3)
Fri Mar 2, 2001Regina, SKManitobaWin88-60 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Sat Mar 3, 2001Regina, SKManitobaWin61-60 GPAC Championship (Best of 3)
Thu Mar 8, 2001Edmonton, ABMcMasterWin93-49 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 9, 2001Edmonton, ABCalgaryWin71-67 CIAU Semifinal
Sun Mar 11, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin94-85StatsCIAU Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Bree Burgess2263128.748-12438.7104-24841.962-7879.552-971496.849566733231814.5
Corrin Wersta2258326.5  111-19656.686-12568.851-851366.266315114730814.0
Cymone Bouchard Bernauer2255625.33-933.3109-20254.069-8779.331-53843.844555794129013.2
Becky Poley2253724.45-2420.892-19447.439-5373.654-631175.350273682522810.4
Heather Dedman McMurray2256625.724-8727.657-18231.353-6877.915-26411.94878672251918.7
Phoebe De Ciman2245320.6  60-10756.137-4778.734-731074.951144725141577.1
Crystal Heisler McGregor2153125.32-1216.740-12033.321-2680.830-50803.8296029 311034.9
Jana Schweitzer191879.84-1625.027-5450.08-1172.74-14180.9141216 7663.5
Rumali Werapitiya151328.80-70.014-3935.98-1172.77-7140.9145814362.4
Leah Anderson181759.7  14-3540.07-977.811-13241.3181013216351.9
Tara Lee Crosson11686.2  8-1361.51-425.0   613 2171.5
* Team Totals224419200.986-27930.8636-139045.8391-51975.3289-48177035.038934939451244174979.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Heather Dedman McMurray24 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Becky Poley14 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Phoebe De Ciman13 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Corrin Wersta12 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Bree Burgess11 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Cymone Bouchard Bernauer10 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Crystal Heisler McGregor10 on Mar 11, 2001 vs Alberta  
Leah Anderson   
Tara Lee Crosson   
Jana Schweitzer   
Rumali Werapitiya   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com