Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 2000-01 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Michele Belanger (22nd season)
Other staff: Jim Henderson (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
15-50.7501441-125072.0 - 62.520-150.5712412-229168.9 - 65.520-150.5712412-229168.9 - 65.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Christine Anderson   
 Jacqueline Armour Post6-22Peterborough, ON 
 Laura Chuba   
 Jennifer Coens Forward5-10 Aurora, ONCardinal Carter High
 Klara Danes Forward6-05Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate (Maine)
 Rachel Franssen Guard5-82Chatham, ONUrsuline College
 Denise Heckbert Forward5-112Toronto, ONMichael Power
 Catherine Lee   
 Suzanne McAlpine Guard5-95Nepean, ONSt. Paul High
 Vanessa Nobrega Guard5-9 Toronto, ONWeston Collegiate
 Holly Pagnan Guard5-8 Brantford, ONNorth Park Collegiate
 Vanessa Richardson Forward5-103London, ONLondon Central Secondary
 Elanna Robson Guard5-84Etobicoke, ON 
 Nicole Van Beurden   

Awards presented

Klara Danes OUA East All-Star Team
Suzanne McAlpine OUA East All-Rookie Team
Vanessa Richardson OUA East All-Star Team
Elanna Robson OUA East All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 7, 2000Toronto, ONWindsorWin75-68  
Wed Oct 11, 2000UnknownWaterlooWin83-53  
Fri Oct 13, 2000Toronto, ONMcMasterWin79-70 Ryerson Invitational
Sat Oct 14, 2000Toronto, ONUBCLoss66-73 Ryerson Invitational
Sun Oct 15, 2000Toronto, ONWesternLoss55-64 Ryerson Invitational
Fri Oct 20, 2000Winnipeg, MBWinnipegLoss57-74 Bison Invitational
Sat Oct 21, 2000Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss52-82 Bison Invitational
Sun Oct 22, 2000Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss61-77 Bison Invitational
Wed Oct 25, 2000UnknownMemorialLoss75-83  
Sun Oct 29, 2000UnknownYorkWin72-49 Raptor Cup
Fri Dec 22, 2000UnknownYorkLoss49-51 Raptor Cup Final
Fri Dec 29, 2000Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss58-72 Calgary Intivational
Sat Dec 30, 2000Calgary, ABAlbertaWin72-65 Calgary Intivational
Sun Dec 31, 2000Calgary, ABVictoriaLoss45-71 Calgary Intivational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 10, 2000UnknownLaurentianLoss79-85  
Sun Nov 12, 2000UnknownYorkWin76-51  
Fri Nov 17, 2000UnknownLavalLoss58-75  
Sat Nov 18, 2000UnknownBishop'sWin74-54  
Fri Nov 24, 2000Kingston, ONQueen'sLoss70-72  
Thu Nov 30, 2000Toronto, ONRyersonWin68-54  
Fri Jan 12, 2001Montreal, QCMcGillWin78-76  
Sat Jan 13, 2001UnknownConcordiaWin65-56  
Fri Jan 19, 2001UnknownOttawaWin65-52  
Sat Jan 20, 2001UnknownCarletonWin68-54  
Fri Jan 26, 2001UnknownYorkWin81-73  
Sat Jan 27, 2001UnknownLaurentianWin72-51  
Fri Feb 2, 2001UnknownBishop'sWin66-60  
Sat Feb 3, 2001UnknownLavalLoss76-90  
Fri Feb 9, 2001Toronto, ONQueen'sWin69-59  
Sun Feb 11, 2001Toronto, ONRyersonWin76-50  
Sat Feb 17, 2001Toronto, ONMcGillWin81-64  
Sun Feb 18, 2001UnknownConcordiaLoss67-71  
Fri Feb 23, 2001UnknownCarletonWin51-40  
Sat Feb 24, 2001UnknownOttawaWin101-63  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Mar 1, 2001Ottawa, ONQueen'sLoss72-89 OUA East Semifinal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Elanna Robson21  10-3330.3108-23346.479-12463.744-821266.0     30514.5
Klara Danes21  0-10.0101-22844.363-10063.081-791607.6     26512.6
Vanessa Richardson17  13-3537.173-18739.038-4780.935-44794.6     19711.6
Catherine Lee5  0-10.018-3946.212-1392.39-15244.8     489.6
Holly Pagnan21  4-1723.570-15944.042-5872.424-46703.3     1868.9
Suzanne McAlpine21  7-2528.050-13437.333-4573.335-59944.5     1406.7
Vanessa Nobrega21  4-2615.456-13142.710-1855.635-39743.5     1266.0
Jacqueline Armour21  1-1100.039-11035.533-4967.338-51894.2     1125.3
Laura Chuba21    26-5547.311-2055.014-50643.0     633.0
Rachel Franssen18  1-425.08-2927.63-650.08-27351.9     201.1
Jennifer Coens7    0-20.04-4100.00-550.7     40.6
Denise Heckbert11    3-742.9  2-020.2     60.5
Christine Anderson2                00.0
Nicole Van Beurden8                00.0
* Team Totals21  40-14328.0552-131442.0328-48467.8325-49782239.1     147270.1


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com