U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 2001-02 Season

Head Coach:Kevin Hanson (2nd season)
League:CanWest Pacific

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
14-60.7001549-149677.5 - 74.818-140.5622414-241775.4 - 75.518-140.5622414-241775.4 - 75.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
10Brandon Ellis Guard6-2190 Campbell River, BC 
12Jama Mahlalela Guard6-3170 Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate
14Jason Bristow   
20Brian Banman Guard6-3190 Kelowna, BCKelowna Secondary
22Aaron Frampton Forward6-6220 Pitt Meadows, BC 
24Tasso Kanavos   
30Ben Sansburn   
32Mark Tasic   
34Jarami Reid   
40Kyle Russell Guard6-3210 Richmond, BC 
42Corey Ogilvie Guard6-2200 Qualicum, BC 
44Mon Jef Peeters   
52Paul Naka   

Awards presented

Kevin Hanson Canada West Coach of the Year
Paul Naka Canada West All Rookie Team
Kyle Russell Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 18, 2001Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss69-90  
Fri Oct 19, 2001Guelph, ONGuelphLoss64-86  
Sat Oct 20, 2001St. Catharines, ONBrockWin78-68  
Thu Oct 25, 2001Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss78-86 Edmonton Journal
Fri Oct 26, 2001Edmonton, ABCarletonLoss63-76 Edmonton Journal
Sat Oct 27, 2001Edmonton, ABMcMasterWin99-77 Edmonton Journal
Thu Dec 27, 2001Victoria, BCMcMasterLoss56-57 UVic Invitational
Fri Dec 28, 2001Victoria, BCTorontoWin81-77OTUVic Invitational
Sat Dec 29, 2001Victoria, BCLaurentianLoss66-79 UVic Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 2, 2001Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin74-68  
Sat Nov 3, 2001Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss61-74  
Fri Nov 9, 2001Vancouver, BCSimon FraserLoss65-76  
Sat Nov 10, 2001Vancouver, BCSimon FraserLoss69-76  
Fri Nov 16, 2001Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin79-70  
Sat Nov 17, 2001Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss59-74  
Fri Nov 23, 2001Calgary, ABCalgaryWin90-81  
Sat Nov 24, 2001Calgary, ABCalgaryWin91-79  
Fri Jan 4, 2002Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin74-65  
Sat Jan 5, 2002Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin84-68  
Fri Jan 11, 2002Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin85-76  
Sat Jan 12, 2002Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin79-65  
Fri Jan 18, 2002Victoria, BCVictoriaWin81-79  
Sat Jan 19, 2002Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss61-81  
Fri Jan 25, 2002Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin70-57  
Sat Jan 26, 2002Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternLoss88-90  
Fri Feb 1, 2002Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin87-79  
Sat Feb 2, 2002Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin86-82  
Fri Feb 8, 2002Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin76-73  
Sat Feb 9, 2002Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin90-83  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 15, 2002Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin76-61 Canada West Playoff
Sat Feb 16, 2002Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss60-72 Canada West Playoff
Sun Feb 17, 2002Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss75-92 Canada West Playoff

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kyle Russell2071435.755-15136.4162-35745.4133-17775.136-1011376.843936353451225.6
Corey Ogilvie2059029.530-7639.591-17751.458-8072.533-731065.351484182627013.5
Ben Sansburn1844524.76-1540.053-9953.537-6656.132-46784.3611923681498.3
Mark Tasic2033416.70-00.064-11655.234-5561.827-56834.2451333271628.1
Paul Naka1237431.212-3534.323-5641.17-1163.61-32332.819502517655.4
Aaron Frampton2034017.01-1100.035-6355.626-3868.424-45693.5521121148974.8
Brandon Ellis1719011.27-3221.922-6633.330-4173.27-15221.313812110814.8
Jason Bristow2049024.51-812.532-8040.018-4045.016-58743.76965431023834.2
Jama Mahlalela2029414.710-2934.519-5633.922-3171.03-26291.436192426703.5
Jarami Reid55410.80-00.04-1136.45-1050.07-6132.685103132.6
Brian Banman171197.06-1833.39-2832.16-1154.57-9160.922141001301.8
Tasso Kanavos13745.74-1822.25-2718.54-850.02-020.2121402181.4
Mon Jef Peeters382.70-00.00-20.00-00.00-110.33020100.0
* Team Totals204026201.3132-38334.5519-113845.6380-56866.9195-46866333.143434630249136155077.5