Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Toronto Varsity Blues - 2002-03 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Michele Belanger (24th season)
Other staff: Jim Henderson (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
10-100.5001321-129466.0 - 64.714-150.4831896-192265.4 - 66.314-150.4831896-192265.4 - 66.3

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
5Rachel Franssen Guard5-84Chatham, ONUrsuline College
6Denise Heckbert Forward5-114Toronto, ONMichael Power
7Jennifer Coens Forward5-10 Aurora, ONCardinal Carter High
8Stephanie Kolanos Guard5-9 Calgary, AB 
10Julia Gaffield Guard5-8 Ottawa, ONGlebe Collegiate
11Vanessa Nobrega Guard5-9 Toronto, ONWeston Collegiate
12Jacqueline Armour Post6-24Peterborough, ON 
13Paula Romkey Post6-0 Ottawa, ONAshbury College
14Kaila MacAlpine Forward6-0 Saint John, NBSaint John High
15Brilynn Ferguson   
 Zoe Baldwin   
 Kristen Cullen Guard5-6 Hartland, MI 
 Stephanie Donohue Post5-11 Scarborough, ON 
 Lina Jaglowitz Forward5-10 Toronto, ONDe La Salle College
 Ruth Lancashire   

Awards presented

Paula Romkey OUA East First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 18, 2002Montreal, QCUNBWin67-56 McGill Redbird Classic
Sat Oct 19, 2002Montreal, QCQueen'sLoss63-73 McGill Redbird Classic
Sun Oct 20, 2002Montreal, QCMcGillWin58-55 McGill Redbird Classic
Fri Nov 1, 2002UnknownUPEIWin71-67  
Sat Nov 2, 2002UnknownStFXLoss63-76  
Sun Nov 3, 2002UnknownAcadiaWin81-58  
Fri Dec 27, 2002Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss55-83StatsPrime West Energy Tournament
Sat Dec 28, 2002Calgary, ABAlbertaLoss60-74StatsPrime West Energy Tournament
Sun Dec 29, 2002Calgary, ABReginaLoss57-86StatsPrime West Energy Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 8, 2002Toronto, ONLakeheadWin89-51  
Sat Nov 9, 2002Toronto, ONMcMasterLoss60-72  
Fri Nov 15, 2002Windsor, ONWindsorWin68-42  
Sat Nov 16, 2002London, ONWesternLoss67-84Stats 
Fri Nov 22, 2002Toronto, ONQueen'sLoss49-67  
Fri Nov 29, 2002Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss63-72  
Sat Nov 30, 2002Ottawa, ONCarletonWin64-51  
Sat Jan 4, 2003Toronto, ONRyersonWin78-73OT 
Fri Jan 10, 2003Toronto, ONBrockLoss56-61  
Sat Jan 11, 2003Toronto, ONGuelphWin78-59  
Fri Jan 17, 2003Waterloo, ONLaurierLoss73-83  
Sat Jan 18, 2003Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin82-74  
Fri Jan 24, 2003Toronto, ONYorkLoss58-69  
Sat Jan 25, 2003Sudbury, ONLaurentianLoss64-76  
Fri Jan 31, 2003Kingston, ONQueen'sLoss40-64  
Fri Feb 7, 2003Toronto, ONOttawaWin80-51  
Sat Feb 8, 2003Toronto, ONCarletonWin69-53  
Fri Feb 14, 2003Toronto, ONLaurentianLoss59-71  
Sat Feb 15, 2003Toronto, ONYorkWin56-54  
Fri Feb 21, 2003Toronto, ONRyersonWin68-67  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Paula Romkey1747427.9  94-16457.332-6847.135-55905.353144672122012.9
Vanessa Nobrega2067633.84-2020.086-22238.745-5976.352-741266.358566532922111.1
Jacqueline Armour20    73-16743.739-6560.051-641155.866    1859.2
Kaila MacAlpine2037518.816-4040.049-13137.444-5974.617-21381.9301833 131587.9
Kristen Cullen4  4-580.08-1553.310-1283.31-561.56    307.5
Julia Gaffield20  9-5018.060-17833.718-2475.015-38532.656    1477.3
Rachel Franssen20  9-3228.148-13635.335-5267.333-66995.042    1407.0
Jennifer Coens20  0-20.044-12136.426-4163.443-40834.239    1145.7
Brilynn Ferguson17    33-7643.418-3452.926-39653.817    844.9
Stephanie Kolanos13  0-10.03-1717.65-1050.09-9181.47    110.8
Lina Jaglowitz5    2-540.0  1-230.6     40.8
Ruth Lancashire6    1-425.01-333.30-220.31    30.5
Denise Heckbert9    1-812.52-450.01-670.83    40.4
* Team Totals20152576.242-15028.0502-124440.4275-43163.8284-42170535.2378881441063132166.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Paula Romkey16 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary9 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta3 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta
Vanessa Nobrega13 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta8 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina6 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina
Rachel Franssen12 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina5 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary2 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta
Jacqueline Armour10 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina6 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta3 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary
Jennifer Coens7 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta1 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary1 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary
Kaila MacAlpine7 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary3 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina1 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta
Julia Gaffield6 on Dec 27, 2002 vs Calgary4 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta2 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina
Brilynn Ferguson5 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta5 on Dec 28, 2002 vs Alberta1 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina
Stephanie Kolanos2 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina2 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina1 on Dec 29, 2002 vs Regina
Denise Heckbert   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com