U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 2003-04 Season

Head Coach:Kevin Hanson (4th season)
Other staff: Vern Knopp (Assistant Coach), John Dykstra (Assistant Coach), Joe Enevoldson (Assistant Coach), Joel O'Gorman (Manager), Dr. Rob Lloyd-Smith (Team Doctor)
League:CanWest West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-80.6001604-147380.2 - 73.722-130.6292774-258279.3 - 73.824-160.6003154-295478.8 - 73.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
11Casey Archibald Guard6-41852Salmon Arm, BC 
14Jama Mahlalela Guard6-31705Toronto, ONOakwood Collegiate
15Jordan Yu Guard5-81603Prince George, BC 
20Karlo Villanueva Guard5-21303Richmond, BC 
21Ryder McKeown Forward6-72052Vancouver, BC 
22Jason Birring Guard6-31752Richmond, BC 
25Peter Wauthy Forward6-32154Abbotsford, BC 
35Craig Rollins Guard6-32051Vancouver, BC 
40Patrick Sponaski Forward6-82201North Vancouver, BC 
45Pat McKay Forward6-62105Abbotsford, BC 
50Neil Morrison Forward6-52054Port Coquitlam, BC 
55Brian Host Forward6-102504Mackenzie, BC 

Awards presented

Casey Archibald Canada West First Team All-Star
Karlo Villanueva Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Oct 9, 2003UnknownCariboo CollegeWin91-64  
Sat Oct 11, 2003UnknownFraser ValleyWin90-56  
Mon Oct 13, 2003UnknownSouthern MethodistLoss76-88  
Wed Oct 15, 2003UnknownOral RobertsLoss61-81  
Sat Oct 18, 2003UnknownCreightonLoss62-83  
Fri Oct 24, 2003Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss61-73 Jack Donohue Classic
Sat Oct 25, 2003Ottawa, ONGuelphWin81-64 Jack Donohue Classic
Sun Oct 26, 2003Ottawa, ONBishopsWin69-50 Jack Donohue Classic
Sat Dec 27, 2003Victoria, BCRMCWin82-45 Guy Vetrie Memorial
Sun Dec 28, 2003Victoria, BCCarletonWin73-69OTGuy Vetrie Memorial
Mon Dec 29, 2003Victoria, BCYorkLoss87-89 Guy Vetrie Memorial
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 2003Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin76-71  
Sat Nov 8, 2003Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss69-75  
Fri Nov 14, 2003Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin83-56  
Sat Nov 15, 2003Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin84-77  
Fri Nov 21, 2003Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin77-62  
Sat Nov 22, 2003Vancouver, BCSimon FraserLoss80-82  
Fri Nov 28, 2003Brandon, MBBrandonWin78-75  
Sun Nov 30, 2003Regina, SKReginaWin81-66  
Fri Jan 9, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternLoss78-80  
Sat Jan 10, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternLoss74-89  
Fri Jan 16, 2004Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin79-68  
Sat Jan 17, 2004Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss69-72  
Fri Jan 23, 2004Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin82-72  
Sat Jan 24, 2004Burnaby, BCSimon FraserLoss89-94  
Fri Jan 30, 2004Victoria, BCVictoriaWin95-85  
Sat Jan 31, 2004Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss61-62  
Fri Feb 6, 2004Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin74-63  
Sat Feb 7, 2004Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss83-91  
Fri Feb 13, 2004Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin101-55  
Sun Feb 15, 2004Vancouver, BCManitobaWin91-78  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 20, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin84-71 Canada West Division Semifinal
Sat Feb 21, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternLoss73-96 Canada West Division Semifinal
Sun Feb 22, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin74-71 Canada West Division Semifinal
Thu Feb 26, 2004Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin89-88 Canada West Division Final
Fri Feb 27, 2004Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin78-73OTCanada West Division Final
Fri Mar 5, 2004Brandon, MBAlbertaWin92-70 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Mar 6, 2004Brandon, MBCalgaryLoss87-92 Canada West Championship
Thu Mar 18, 2004Halifax, NSYorkLoss64-89 CIS Playoff
Fri Mar 19, 2004Halifax, NSBrandonWin76-69 CIS Extra Game

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Casey Archibald2063231.649-12938.0109-28238.771-8781.620-74944.743524052333816.9
Craig Rollins1840722.630-6446.968-13650.034-4575.613-44573.228171612220011.1
Ryder McKeown2044022.00-10.070-12556.062-9068.927-43703.556163341520210.1
Pat McKay1826814.918-4837.558-14141.133-4475.011-36472.640524781679.3
Karlo Villanueva2066433.29-2733.371-16443.331-4470.510-34442.232162760331829.1
Peter Wauthy2047023.50-00.048-8357.863-8177.845-881336.76018283201598.0
Jason Birring2037218.620-5238.552-12441.919-2673.17-30371.93122311141437.2
Patrick Sponaski2029414.70-00.039-7055.733-5856.929-60894.5676152071115.5
Jordan Yu2028414.28-3324.224-6835.316-2176.28-22301.5283720021723.6
Neil Morrison131229.40-00.011-2055.02-922.28-12201.5255815241.8
Jama Mahlalela6477.80-20.03-837.50-00.01-340.76320361.0
Brian Host111.00-00.00-00.00-00.00-000.00000000.0
* Team Totals204001200.1134-35637.6553-122145.3364-50572.1179-44662531.241634329342171160480.2