Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 2003-04 Season

Head Coach:Deb Huband (9th season)
League:CanWest West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.8001327-110466.3 - 55.227-70.7942274-192466.9 - 56.628-80.7782432-203467.6 - 56.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Cait Haggarty Guard5-7 Victoria, BCMount Douglas Secondary
5Sheila Townsend Guard5-8 Pitt Meadows, BCPitt Meadows Secondary
6Erica McGuinness Guard5-9 North Vancouver, BCHandsworth Secondary
7Carrie Watson Guard5-10 Agassiz, BCAgassiz Secondary
8Julie Little Forward6-1 Richmond, BCR.C. Palmer Secondary
9Kim Howe   
10Kelsey Blair Forward North Vancouver, BC 
11Amanda Beers Guard5-8 Port Moody, BCPort Moody Secondary
12Jessie Evans   
13Letah Beck Centre6-2 Duncan, BCCowichan Secondary
14Caroline Horsley   
15Caitlyn Pankratz   
20Jane Meadwell Guard5-7 Chilliwack, BC 
21Tina Lum Forward5-11 Lake Cowichan, BCLake Cowichan Secondary

Awards presented

Deb Huband Canada West Coach of the Year, Peter Ennis Award (CIS Coach of the Year)
Cait Haggarty Canada West Rookie of the Year, CIS All-Rookie Team
Erica McGuinness Canada West All Rookie Team
Sheila Townsend CIS Championship Tournament All-Star Team
Carrie Watson Canada West Defensive Player of the Year, Canada West First Team All-Star, CIS Defensive Player of the Year, CIS Second Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIS Championship Tournament

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 4, 2003UnknownCariboo CollegeWin86-35  
Fri Oct 17, 2003UnknownYorkWin71-41  
Sat Oct 18, 2003UnknownLavalWin77-73  
Sun Oct 19, 2003UnknownVictoriaLoss52-62  
Sat Oct 25, 2003UnknownSeattle ExpressLoss72-75  
Mon Dec 29, 2003Montreal, QCQueensWin71-46 Concordia Reebok Tournament
Tue Dec 30, 2003Montreal, QCWilfrid LaurierWin82-55 Concordia Reebok Tournament
Wed Dec 31, 2003Montreal, QCManitobaWin69-44 Concordia Reebok Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 2003Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin56-42  
Sat Nov 8, 2003Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss59-64  
Fri Nov 14, 2003Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin79-63  
Sat Nov 15, 2003Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin68-53  
Fri Nov 21, 2003Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin68-64  
Sat Nov 22, 2003Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin63-49  
Fri Nov 28, 2003Brandon, MBBrandonWin75-47  
Sun Nov 30, 2003Regina, SKReginaLoss63-80  
Fri Jan 9, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin72-38  
Sat Jan 10, 2004Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin80-52  
Fri Jan 16, 2004Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin59-49  
Sat Jan 17, 2004Calgary, ABCalgaryWin64-41  
Fri Jan 23, 2004Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin63-52  
Sat Jan 24, 2004Burnaby, BCSimon FraserLoss39-50  
Fri Jan 30, 2004Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss54-79  
Sat Jan 31, 2004Victoria, BCVictoriaWin75-56  
Fri Feb 6, 2004Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin75-59  
Sat Feb 7, 2004Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin62-39  
Fri Feb 13, 2004Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin72-55  
Sun Feb 15, 2004Vancouver, BCManitobaWin81-72  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 20, 2004Vancouver, BCManitobaWin82-67 Canada West Quarterfinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 21, 2004Vancouver, BCManitobaLoss71-73 Canada West Quarterfinal (Best of 3)
Sun Feb 22, 2004Vancouver, BCManitobaWin61-50 Canada West Quarterfinal (Best of 3)
Fri Feb 27, 2004Regina, SKWinnipegWin78-68 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Feb 28, 2004Regina, SKReginaLoss36-73 Canada West Championship
Fri Mar 12, 2004Winnipeg, MBOttawaWin72-69 CIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 13, 2004Winnipeg, MBSimon FraserWin65-46 CIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 14, 2004Winnipeg, MBReginaWin60-53 CIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kelsey Blair2065332.60-10.0126-23254.360-8075.062-1131758.824233613131215.6
Sheila Townsend1232026.79-2733.354-13739.429-4170.76-22282.320382623114612.2
Carrie Watson2056728.410-2934.586-20442.261-8869.328-55834.2645660165424312.2
Erica McGuinness2037918.913-4330.266-14645.232-3884.211-22331.62733344191778.8
Jane Meadwell813116.412-3435.318-5036.06-1154.53-8111.41311905546.8
Amanda Beers2044922.42-1315.437-7350.715-2075.08-24321.6385449124914.5
Kim Howe2037618.80-00.036-8840.917-3450.027-49763.8311833512894.5
Cait Haggarty2049024.513-3636.129-7638.214-1687.55-38432.1265050025854.2
Letah Beck2025012.50-10.030-5752.617-2373.918-26442.22162265773.9
Tina Lum2020710.30-00.07-1838.916-16100.014-19331.621919011301.5
Julie Little4112.80-00.00-10.04-4100.00-110.21010141.0
Caitlyn Pankratz191236.51-1100.03-560.04-850.02-680.41651514110.6
Jessie Evans20442.22-633.32-728.62-450.01-560.33130180.4
* Team Totals204000200.062-19132.5494-109445.2277-38372.3185-38857328.630530435736223132766.3


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com