Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 2003-04 Season

Head Coach:Tanya McKenzie McKay (8th season)
League:CanWest Great Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
13-70.6501325-123766.2 - 61.930-110.7322811-254668.6 - 62.130-110.7322811-254668.6 - 62.1

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Kate Daniels Forward6-0 Winnipeg, MB 
5Sally Kaznica Guard5-8 Felixstowe, England 
6Lindsay de Leeuw Guard5-10 Victoria, BC 
7JoAnne Wells Guard6-0 Bedford, NS 
8Val Carson Guard5-6 Winnipeg, MB 
9Janet Wells Forward5-11 Bedford, NS 
10Stefanie Timmersman Forward5-11 Roseau, MN 
11Melanie Talastas Guard5-5 Winnipeg, MB 
13Heather Thompson Forward6-2 Winnipeg, MB 
14Jae Pirnie Centre6-12Winnipeg, MB 
15Kristine Zatorsky   
21Michelle Roots   
22Uzoma Asagwara Guard5-92Winnipeg, MB 

Awards presented

Sally Kaznica Canada West Second Team All-Star
Heather Thompson Canada West Tracy MacLeod Award Nominee, Tracy MacLeod Award (Spirit)
JoAnne Wells Canada West First Team All-Star, CIS First Team All-Canadian, CIS Championship Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 10, 2003UnknownManitobaLoss63-65  
Sat Oct 11, 2003UnknownLakeheadWin78-52  
Sun Oct 12, 2003UnknownReginaWin64-53  
Fri Oct 17, 2003Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin72-61 Bison Invitational
Sat Oct 18, 2003Winnipeg, MBConcordiaWin62-58 Bison Invitational
Sun Oct 19, 2003Winnipeg, MBWilfrid LaurierWin75-68 Bison Invitational
Fri Oct 31, 2003UnknownBrandonWin60-42  
Sat Nov 1, 2003UnknownMcMasterWin71-55  
Sun Nov 2, 2003UnknownTorontoWin75-53  
Sun Dec 28, 2003UnknownTorontoWin71-63  
Mon Dec 29, 2003UnknownRyersonWin98-61  
Tue Dec 30, 2003UnknownTorontoWin79-66  
Sat Jan 3, 2004UnknownMemorialWin69-59  
Sun Jan 4, 2004UnknownMemorialWin55-54  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 2003Winnipeg, MBTrinity WesternWin74-63  
Sat Nov 8, 2003Winnipeg, MBSimon FraserWin69-61  
Thu Nov 13, 2003Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin69-55  
Sat Nov 15, 2003Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin69-58  
Fri Nov 21, 2003Regina, SKReginaLoss57-75  
Sat Nov 22, 2003Regina, SKReginaLoss53-75  
Fri Nov 28, 2003Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss77-82  
Sat Nov 29, 2003Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeWin67-63OT 
Thu Jan 8, 2004Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin61-40  
Sat Jan 10, 2004Brandon, MBBrandonWin74-56  
Fri Jan 16, 2004Winnipeg, MBAlbertaWin64-61  
Sat Jan 17, 2004Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin75-55  
Thu Jan 22, 2004Brandon, MBBrandonWin68-50  
Sat Jan 24, 2004Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin75-59  
Thu Jan 29, 2004Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin69-59  
Sat Jan 31, 2004Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss68-79  
Fri Feb 6, 2004Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss56-60  
Sat Feb 7, 2004Winnipeg, MBReginaWin69-47  
Fri Feb 13, 2004Vancouver, BCUBCLoss55-72  
Sun Feb 15, 2004Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss56-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 20, 2004Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin80-67 Canada West Quarterfinal (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 21, 2004Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin75-62 Canada West Quarterfinal (Best of 3)
Fri Feb 27, 2004Regina, SKUBCLoss68-78 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Feb 28, 2004Regina, SKSimon FraserLoss65-78 Canada West Bronze Medal
Fri Mar 12, 2004Winnipeg, MBBishopsWin70-62 CIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 13, 2004Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss71-90 CIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 14, 2004Winnipeg, MBSimon FraserWin65-62 CIS Bronze Medal

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
JoAnne Wells1963933.69-1752.9135-23956.590-10585.768-731417.441404343536919.4
Heather Thompson1231826.50-00.046-11540.027-7038.643-731169.722201813131199.9
Sally Kaznica2071235.629-7240.372-18439.123-3271.96-54603.03890749291969.8
Janet Wells1749529.19-2045.057-13741.640-4687.025-60855.03052332201639.6
Uzoma Asagwara2046823.417-5530.972-19636.726-3476.514-25391.929373216311879.3
Kate Daniels2043221.613-3834.268-14148.220-2387.020-44643.25529277111698.4
Stefanie Timmersman2036918.40-10.021-5736.85-1050.015-56713.5243543810472.4
Jae Pirnie1519112.70-00.015-2657.73-837.513-17302.0355614332.2
Kristine Zatorsky5204.00-00.03-3100.01-1100.00-220.41121071.4
Val Carson141299.20-60.04-2814.34-850.04-480.6124904120.9
Melanie Talastas12715.90-30.04-1233.32-2100.02-460.5810504100.8
Michelle Roots7273.90-20.01-812.52-450.00-330.40220040.6
Lindsay de Leeuw181548.61-1100.03-1520.02-450.05-7120.7138102390.5
* Team Totals204025201.278-21536.3501-116143.2245-34770.6215-42263731.930833330463164132566.2


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com