U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 2005-06 Season

Head Coach:Kevin Hanson (6th season)
Other staff: Vern Knopp (Assistant Coach)
League:CanWest West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
20-01.0001851-152792.5 - 76.331-50.8613136-271287.1 - 75.332-60.8423295-286686.7 - 75.4

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
10Brett Leversage   
11Casey Archibald Guard6-4185 Salmon Arm, BC 
14Matt Rachar   
15Jordan Yu Guard5-8160 Prince George, BC 
20Pasha Bains  Richmond, BCRichmond Secondary (Clemson)
21Ryder McKeown Forward6-7205 Vancouver, BC 
22Jason Birring Guard6-3175 Richmond, BC 
25Sean Stewart   
30Bryson Kool  Pitt Meadows, BCPitt Meadows Secondary
35Chad Clifford   
45Nate Moulson   
50Mathias Dockner   

Awards presented

Kevin Hanson Canada West Coach of the Year, Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)
Casey Archibald Canada West Player of the Year, Canada West First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian
Pasha Bains Canada West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Sep 3, 2005Vancouver, BCCal State NorthridgeWin85-64 Cal State Northridge BC Tour
Sat Sep 3, 2005Vancouver, BCColoradoLoss74-90 Colorado Tour in BC
Fri Oct 14, 2005Toronto, ONTorontoWin93-75  
Sat Oct 15, 2005Guelph, ONGuelphWin80-72  
Sun Oct 16, 2005Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin77-75Stats 
Wed Dec 28, 2005Vancouver, BCLaurentianWin92-61 Accent Inns Tournament
Thu Dec 29, 2005Vancouver, BCYorkWin85-62 Accent Inns Tournament
Fri Dec 30, 2005Vancouver, BCOttawaLoss77-79 Accent Inns Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 22, 2005Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin103-86  
Fri Oct 28, 2005Calgary, ABCalgaryWin97-89  
Sat Oct 29, 2005Calgary, ABCalgaryWin96-63  
Thu Nov 10, 2005Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin84-73  
Fri Nov 11, 2005Vancouver, BCThompson RiversWin102-72  
Fri Nov 18, 2005Brandon, MBBrandonWin96-91  
Sat Nov 19, 2005Brandon, MBBrandonWin69-67  
Sun Nov 27, 2005Victoria, BCVictoriaWin85-79  
Fri Dec 2, 2005Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin99-75  
Sat Dec 3, 2005Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin92-86  
Fri Jan 6, 2006Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin102-69  
Sat Jan 7, 2006Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin104-80  
Fri Jan 20, 2006Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin107-87  
Sat Jan 21, 2006Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin120-86  
Sat Jan 28, 2006Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin93-74  
Sat Jan 28, 2006Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin65-62  
Thu Feb 2, 2006Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin82-74  
Fri Feb 3, 2006Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin87-67  
Thu Feb 9, 2006Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin76-64  
Sat Feb 11, 2006Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin92-83  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 17, 2006Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin92-76 CanWest West Semifinal
Sat Feb 18, 2006Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin82-63 CanWest West Semifinal
Fri Feb 24, 2006Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin78-63 CanWest West Final
Sat Feb 25, 2006Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss74-82 CanWest West Final
Sun Feb 26, 2006Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin74-66 CanWest West Final
Fri Mar 3, 2006Vancouver, BCSaskatchewanWin73-72 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Mar 4, 2006Vancouver, BCVictoriaLoss74-84 Canada West Championship
Fri Mar 17, 2006Halifax, NSCape BretonLoss62-80 CIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 18, 2006Halifax, NSUQAMWin85-79 CIS Consolation Semifinal
Sun Mar 19, 2006Halifax, NSMcMasterLoss87-96 CIS Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Pasha Bains1958530.858-14938.9140-29547.582-12466.117-66834.4391007812342022.1
Casey Archibald1750229.549-10646.295-18850.572-9179.115-68834.927554432631118.3
Jason Birring2052226.139-8645.369-14348.341-5377.419-47663.342344311321810.9
Ryder McKeown2044022.00-30.069-12853.956-9558.949-751246.26323340161949.7
Bryson Kool2038019.00-00.079-12264.828-5253.837-56934.748144616171869.3
Chad Clifford1623514.717-4934.738-8644.237-4877.17-30372.31711181121308.1
Matt Rachar2034417.210-2441.744-9048.940-6660.630-50804.04934282161386.9
Jordan Yu2043021.513-3834.235-7646.131-4077.511-40512.54286304551145.7
Mathias Dockner2027213.69-2931.034-7545.313-2259.115-50653.259121439904.5
Sean Stewart1010910.90-10.06-1540.05-771.44-14181.8264920171.7
Nate Moulson9556.10-00.03-560.06-966.72-570.8100510121.3
Brett Leversage171297.62-1118.29-2536.01-119.15-12171.0131113112211.2
* Team Totals204003200.2197-49639.7621-124849.8412-61866.7211-51372436.243538436235199185192.5