Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Guelph Gryphons - 2006-07 Season

Head Coach:Angela Orton (19th season)
Other staff: Angela Hrkac (Assistant Coach), Dean Huyck (Assistant Coach), Jennifer Reid-Davidson (Assistant Coach), Rachel Hancock (Manager), Naomi Bernstein (Trainer)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
17-50.7731572-132471.5 - 60.225-120.6762585-226169.9 - 61.126-120.6842644-231769.6 - 61.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Morgan Jean Guard5-51Sarnia, ONNorthern Collegiate
5Kris Yallin Guard5-92Port Colborne, ONLakeshore Catholic High
6Lauren Valvasori Forward5-102Hamilton, ON 
7Heather Angus Guard5-83Hamilton, ONSt. Mary Secondary
9Caitlin Marshall Guard5-101St. Albert, ABSt. Albert High
11Sarah Teeter Forward5-103Guelph, ONSaint James High
12Emily Peaker Guard5-94Burlington, ON 
13Alexandra Russell Forward6-01Paradise Valley, AZChaparrall High
14Chrissy Martin Guard5-51Grande Pointe, ONChatham-Kent Secondary
15Kathryn Nevar Forward6-04Port Colborne, ON 
22Stephanie Yallin Guard5-84Port Colborne, ONLakeshore Catholic High
23Shelly Burton Centre6-14Halifax, NS 
24Katie Guthrie Wing5-84Orillia, ONOrillia District Collegiate

Awards presented

Heather Angus OUA West Defensive Player of the Year
Katie Guthrie OUA West All-Star Second Team
Morgan Jean OUA West All-Rookie Team
Stephanie Yallin OUA West All-Star Team, Joy Bellinger Award of Merit - OUA West, Sylvia Sweeney Award (Outstanding Student-Athlete)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 13, 2006Toronto, ONUBCLoss60-69 Rams Basketball Classic
Sat Oct 14, 2006Toronto, ONMcMasterLoss63-77 Rams Basketball Classic
Sun Oct 15, 2006Toronto, ONRyersonWin71-41 Rams Basketball Classic
Fri Oct 20, 2006Guelph, ONAcadiaWin80-70  
Fri Oct 27, 2006Toronto, ONNEDAWin59-56 Canadian Basketball Invitational
Sat Oct 28, 2006Toronto, ONYorkLoss61-72 Canadian Basketball Invitational
Sun Oct 29, 2006Toronto, ONTorontoLoss55-75 Canadian Basketball Invitational
Fri Nov 3, 2006Fredericton, NBUPEIWin91-60 UNB Tournament
Sat Nov 4, 2006Fredericton, NBUNBLoss49-59 UNB Tournament
Sun Nov 5, 2006Fredericton, NBLavalLoss59-70 UNB Tournament
Fri Dec 29, 2006Kingston, ONQueensWin69-66 RMC Tournament
Sat Dec 30, 2006Kingston, ONLavalWin63-41 RMC Tournament
Sun Dec 31, 2006Kingston, ONRMCWin103-56 RMC Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 1, 2006Guelph, ONBrockWin62-52  
Fri Nov 10, 2006Guelph, ONLaurentianLoss65-78  
Sat Nov 11, 2006Guelph, ONYorkLoss68-71  
Fri Nov 17, 2006Ottawa, ONOttawaWin71-68  
Sat Nov 18, 2006Ottawa, ONCarletonWin94-60  
Tue Nov 21, 2006Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss58-62  
Fri Nov 24, 2006Toronto, ONRyersonWin90-56  
Sat Nov 25, 2006Toronto, ONTorontoWin71-55  
Fri Dec 1, 2006Guelph, ONRMCWin71-30  
Sat Dec 2, 2006Guelph, ONQueensWin74-45  
Sat Jan 6, 2007Guelph, ONWesternWin75-69  
Wed Jan 10, 2007Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin78-59  
Sat Jan 13, 2007Guelph, ONWaterlooWin72-58  
Wed Jan 17, 2007Guelph, ONMcMasterLoss54-66  
Sat Jan 20, 2007London, ONWesternLoss50-66  
Wed Jan 24, 2007Windsor, ONWindsorWin82-61  
Sat Jan 27, 2007St. Catharines, ONBrockWin64-61  
Wed Jan 31, 2007Guelph, ONWindsorWin80-64  
Sat Feb 3, 2007Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin65-56  
Fri Feb 9, 2007Guelph, ONLakeheadWin75-56  
Sat Feb 10, 2007Guelph, ONLakeheadWin76-64  
Wed Feb 14, 2007Guelph, ONWilfrid LaurierWin77-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 17, 2007Guelph, ONLakeheadWin80-56 OUA West Playoff
Wed Feb 21, 2007London, ONWesternWin68-59 OUA West Semifinal
Sat Feb 24, 2007Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss41-66 OUA West Final


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com