Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Men's site

Winnipeg Wesmen - 2007-08 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Tanya McKenzie McKay (12th season)
Other staff: Tami Pennell (Assistant Coach)
League:CanWest Plains

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
8-140.3641395-147563.4 - 67.013-180.4192004-204364.6 - 65.914-220.3892275-241863.2 - 67.2

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Caitlin Gooch 2Winnipeg, MBGlenlawn Collegiate
6Kaitlin Rempel   
7Jessica Stromberg   
8Mackenzie Prasek Guard5-81Winnipeg, MBVincent Massey Collegiate
9Randie Gibson Guard5-8 Regina, SKBalfour Collegiate
10Kaitlin Frison   
11Rosemary Mills Guard5-10 Winnipeg, MBWestwood Collegiate
12Caity Purvis-Collins Forward6-0 Winnipeg, MBChurchill High
13Sarah Reilly   
14Amy Ogidan Forward6-0 Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
15Dawna Wright Guard/Forward5-11 Fort Lauderdale, FL 
23Alexandria MacIver Forward6-5 Winnipeg, MBGarden City Collegiate

Awards presented

Caitlin Gooch Canada West Second Team All-Star
Amy Ogidan Canada West Rookie of the Year, CIS All-Rookie Team
Jessica Stromberg Canada West Tracy MacLeod Award Nominee

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 5, 2007Winnipeg, MBLakeheadLoss54-55 Winnipeg Tournament
Sat Oct 6, 2007Winnipeg, MBReginaWin57-54StatsWinnipeg Tournament
Sun Oct 7, 2007Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin77-64 Winnipeg Tournament
Sat Oct 20, 2007UnknownRMCWin91-51  
Thu Oct 25, 2007UnknownU North DakotaLoss43-94  
Fri Oct 26, 2007UnknownJamestown CollegeWin61-50  
Sat Oct 27, 2007UnknownMayville StateLoss55-71  
Fri Dec 28, 2007UnknownMinot StateLoss55-86  
Sat Dec 29, 2007UnknownMinot StateLoss57-74  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Nov 1, 2007Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss49-68  
Sat Nov 3, 2007Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin86-59  
Fri Nov 9, 2007Regina, SKReginaLoss51-76Stats 
Sat Nov 10, 2007Regina, SKReginaLoss57-82Stats 
Fri Nov 16, 2007Winnipeg, MBUBCLoss54-65  
Sat Nov 17, 2007Winnipeg, MBVictoriaWin68-57  
Fri Nov 23, 2007Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss67-73Stats 
Sat Nov 24, 2007Burnaby, BCSimon FraserLoss53-91  
Thu Nov 29, 2007Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin75-60  
Sat Dec 1, 2007Brandon, MBBrandonWin72-63  
Thu Jan 3, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss48-54  
Sat Jan 5, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin71-52  
Fri Jan 11, 2008Winnipeg, MBAlbertaLoss51-64  
Sat Jan 12, 2008Winnipeg, MBSaskatchewanWin79-70  
Fri Jan 18, 2008Abbotsford, BCUFVWin60-56  
Sat Jan 19, 2008Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin77-53  
Fri Jan 25, 2008Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss50-72Stats 
Sat Jan 26, 2008Winnipeg, MBReginaLoss55-65Stats 
Fri Feb 1, 2008Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss67-68  
Sat Feb 2, 2008Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss69-76  
Thu Feb 7, 2008Brandon, MBBrandonLoss76-81  
Sat Feb 9, 2008Winnipeg, MBBrandonLoss60-70  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Feb 14, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss51-53 Canada West Playoff (Best of 3)
Sat Feb 16, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin86-75OTCanada West Playoff (Best of 3)
Sun Feb 17, 2008Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin69-67 Canada West Playoff (Best of 3)
Thu Feb 21, 2008Regina, SKReginaLoss64-71StatsCanada West Playoff (Best of 3)
Fri Feb 22, 2008Regina, SKReginaLoss60-78StatsCanada West Playoff (Best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Caitlin Gooch1755732.830-7838.571-18039.453-5793.013-46593.524494413922513.2
Dawna Wright2164130.528-7636.895-24938.226-4261.940-991396.6413670233324411.6
Amy Ogidan2257826.312-5223.188-29030.367-9272.841-811225.5633763142825511.6
Randie Gibson2056228.135-8441.742-12334.132-4080.015-39542.74955412211517.5
Alexandria MacIver2246421.1  62-11753.023-3467.665-731386.3639375141476.7
Jessica Stromberg1235729.85-1338.531-8735.66-785.747-591068.8212242511736.1
Rosemary Mills2030115.19-2832.129-8733.310-1376.913-31442.2222029415773.9
Sarah Reilly2231414.3  32-9434.014-1877.832-40723.325112147783.5
Mackenzie Prasek2232514.87-3520.018-8321.728-4168.316-19351.6201547 18713.2
Caity Purvis-Collins201296.510-3132.312-3831.63-560.04-15190.91661744371.9
Kaitlin Rempel191658.7  10-3231.21-1100.09-18271.414517 9211.1
Kaitlin Frison16825.1  5-1145.56-875.05-12171.11147 1161.0
* Team Totals224475203.4136-39734.3495-139135.6269-35875.1300-53283237.836926943562200139563.4

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Caitlin Gooch22 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina6 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina3 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina
Amy Ogidan22 on Feb 21, 2008 vs Regina6 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina2 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina
Randie Gibson17 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina5 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina4 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina
Dawna Wright15 on Nov 23, 2007 vs Trinity Western7 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina3 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina
Alexandria MacIver11 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina8 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina3 on Nov 23, 2007 vs Trinity Western
Jessica Stromberg9 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina11 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina2 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina
Mackenzie Prasek8 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina3 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina1 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina
Rosemary Mills7 on Jan 26, 2008 vs Regina5 on Nov 23, 2007 vs Trinity Western5 on Nov 23, 2007 vs Trinity Western
Caity Purvis-Collins6 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina2 on Nov 23, 2007 vs Trinity Western2 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina
Sarah Reilly6 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina9 on Oct 6, 2007 vs Regina1 on Jan 25, 2008 vs Regina
Kaitlin Frison2 on Feb 22, 2008 vs Regina4 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina1 on Nov 9, 2007 vs Regina
Kaitlin Rempel2 on Nov 10, 2007 vs Regina1 on Nov 23, 2007 vs Trinity Western 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com