Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 2008-09 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Dave Smart (10th season)
Other staff: Mark McMahon (Assistant Coach), Rob Smart Jr. (Assistant Coach), Dean Petridis (Assistant Coach), Shawn McCleery (Assistant Coach), Andy Stewart (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Aaron Blakely (Manager), Ben Ryan (Manager)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
21-10.9551960-139389.1 - 63.336-10.9733170-228285.7 - 61.740-40.9093727-277184.7 - 63.0

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Michael Kenny Guard6-01753Ottawa, ONSir Robert Borden High
10Elliot Thompson Guard6-31952Fredericton, NBFredericton High
11Dan Penner Forward6-72151Winnipeg, MBMiles Macdonell Collegiate
13Stuart Turnbull Guard6-21855Kingston, ONFrontenac Secondary
15Kyle Smendziuk Forward6-62051Kanata, ONAll Saints High
21Derek McConnery Forward6-53Perth, ONPerth District Collegiate
22Cole Hobin Guard6-61952Ashton, ONSacred Heart High, Eastern Commerce Collegiate
23Anthony Ashe Guard/Forward6-41851Stittsville, ONSacred Heart Catholic High (Carleton)
31Luke Chapman Guard6-43Bloomfield, ONNicholson Catholic College
33Robert Saunders Guard6-21955Kingston, ONFrontenac Secondary
42Aaron Doornekamp Forward6-72005Odessa, ONErnestown Secondary
43Aaron Chapman Forward6-82102Bloomfield, ONNicholson Catholic College
45Kevin McCleery Centre6-84Nepean, ONSir Robert Borden High
RSKevin Churchill Forward6-72121Toronto, ONNorth Toronto Collegiate

Awards presented

Dave Smart OUA East Coach of the Year, Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)
Aaron Doornekamp OUA East First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Kevin McCleery CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Robert Saunders OUA East Defensive Player of the Year, U SPORTS Defensive Player of the Year
Kyle Smendziuk OUA East All Rookie Team
Stuart Turnbull E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP), OUA East First Team All-Star, Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup), First Team All-Canadian, MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Aug 28, 2008Ottawa, ONNortheasternWin77-47  
Sat Aug 30, 2008Ottawa, ONKansasLoss83-84 Kansas Jayhawks Trip
Sun Aug 31, 2008Ottawa, ONSouth AlabamaWin78-59  
Mon Sep 1, 2008Ottawa, ONBuffaloWin84-74  
Sat Oct 4, 2008Ottawa, ONSt. Lawrence CollegeWin112-77  
Fri Oct 17, 2008Ottawa, ONBishop'sWin102-53 House-Laughton Hoops Classic
Sat Oct 18, 2008Ottawa, ONLavalWin73-60 House-Laughton Hoops Classic
Sun Oct 19, 2008Ottawa, ONVictoriaWin74-63 House-Laughton Hoops Classic
Fri Oct 24, 2008Quebec City, QCQueen'sWin72-55 Universite Laval Tournament
Sat Oct 25, 2008Quebec City, QCWaterlooWin73-52StatsUniversite Laval Tournament
Sun Oct 26, 2008Quebec City, QCLavalWin72-54 Universite Laval Tournament
Sat Nov 1, 2008Cincinnati, OHCincinnatiLoss54-64  
Sun Nov 2, 2008Morehead, KYMorehead StateLoss69-84  
Fri Jan 2, 2009Halifax, NSAcadiaWin87-60 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sat Jan 3, 2009Halifax, NSDalhousieWin69-57 Rod Shoveller Tournament
Sun Jan 4, 2009Halifax, NSStFXWin83-61 Rod Shoveller Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 7, 2008Windsor, ONWindsorLoss68-80  
Sat Nov 8, 2008London, ONWesternWin79-74  
Fri Nov 14, 2008Ottawa, ONLakeheadWin78-57  
Sat Nov 15, 2008Ottawa, ONMcMasterWin74-49  
Fri Nov 21, 2008Ottawa, ONGuelphWin64-48  
Sat Nov 22, 2008Ottawa, ONBrockWin92-67  
Fri Nov 28, 2008Waterloo, ONLaurierWin78-55  
Sat Nov 29, 2008Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin83-76Stats 
Fri Jan 9, 2009Ottawa, ONTorontoWin81-68  
Sat Jan 10, 2009Ottawa, ONRyersonWin96-60  
Fri Jan 16, 2009Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin110-58  
Sat Jan 17, 2009Toronto, ONYorkWin89-72  
Fri Jan 23, 2009Kingston, ONRMCWin118-71Stats 
Sat Jan 24, 2009Kingston, ONQueen'sWin100-75  
Wed Jan 28, 2009Ottawa, ONOttawaWin87-72 Capital Hoops Classic
Fri Jan 30, 2009Ottawa, ONYorkWin104-82  
Sat Jan 31, 2009Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin107-56  
Fri Feb 6, 2009Toronto, ONRyersonWin98-62  
Sat Feb 7, 2009Toronto, ONTorontoWin74-54  
Fri Feb 13, 2009Ottawa, ONQueen'sWin85-43  
Sat Feb 14, 2009Ottawa, ONRMCWin119-45Stats 
Sat Feb 21, 2009Ottawa, ONOttawaWin76-69  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 28, 2009Ottawa, ONYorkWin105-57 OUA East Semifinal
Wed Mar 4, 2009Ottawa, ONOttawaWin82-61 OUA East Final
Sat Mar 7, 2009London, ONWesternWin71-57 OUA Championship
Fri Mar 13, 2009Ottawa, ONStFXWin94-57StatsCIS Final Eight Quarter Final
Sat Mar 14, 2009Ottawa, ONWesternWin66-65StatsCIS Final Eight Semi Final
Sun Mar 15, 2009Ottawa, ONUBCWin87-77StatsCIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Stuart Turnbull2261628.044-11737.6118-28541.488-11179.334-771115.035604782736816.7
Aaron Doornekamp2154826.126-5250.0101-20549.375-9578.948-981467.043742332330314.4
Kevin McCleery2247121.4  124-21158.843-6071.741-851265.769191941429113.2
Michael Kenny2252623.963-11753.876-14054.329-3485.318-39572.6465026 2424411.1
Robert Saunders2255425.231-7740.355-13042.333-4671.731-57884.06739369181747.9
Cole Hobin2245120.517-6526.251-13238.626-4261.932-46783.54724328291456.6
Elliot Thompson2234415.621-5935.640-11036.424-3372.720-35552.52319121111255.7
Kyle Smendziuk2225511.6  37-6656.118-2962.127-34612.84151918924.2
Anthony Ashe211266.016-3250.024-5444.43-650.04-13170.82261424673.2
Luke Chapman191739.117-3351.519-3652.84-580.08-20281.5178615593.1
Dan Penner7375.3  8-1553.32-366.74-591.341223182.6
Aaron Chapman2025312.7  16-5131.417-2860.721-43643.240171728492.5
Derek McConnery12524.3  9-1464.37-1258.36-8141.2563 1252.1
* Team Totals224406200.3235-55242.6678-144946.8369-50473.2294-56085438.845932825641175196089.1

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Anthony Ashe25 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC5 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC1 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC
Stuart Turnbull23 on Mar 13, 2009 vs StFX7 on Mar 15, 2009 vs UBC2 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC
Robert Saunders18 on Mar 15, 2009 vs UBC6 on Mar 14, 2009 vs Western3 on Mar 13, 2009 vs StFX
Michael Kenny17 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC5 on Mar 15, 2009 vs UBC5 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC
Aaron Doornekamp16 on Mar 14, 2009 vs Western8 on Mar 13, 2009 vs StFX5 on Mar 13, 2009 vs StFX
Kevin McCleery15 on Mar 15, 2009 vs UBC8 on Mar 13, 2009 vs StFX2 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC
Cole Hobin14 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC9 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC2 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC
Kyle Smendziuk13 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC7 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC1 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC
Elliot Thompson11 on Mar 15, 2009 vs UBC5 on Mar 14, 2009 vs Western5 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC
Aaron Chapman10 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC8 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC4 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC
Luke Chapman10 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC4 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC2 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC
Derek McConnery10 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC3 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC3 on Feb 14, 2009 vs RMC
Dan Penner5 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC3 on Jan 23, 2009 vs RMC 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com