U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

British Columbia Thunderbirds - 2008-09 Season

Head Coach:Kevin Hanson (9th season)
Other staff: James Derouin (Assistant Coach), Vern Knopp (Assistant Coach)
League:CanWest West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
21-20.9131957-152185.1 - 66.131-40.8863006-235885.9 - 67.433-50.8683247-257985.4 - 67.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Josh Whyte Guard6-3190 Calgary, ABLester B. Pearson High
5Blain LaBranche Guard6-4185 Edmonton, ABJasper Place High
6Akeem Pierre Guard5-11190 Richmond, BCRC Palmer Secondary (UBC)
7Alex Murphy Guard6-1195 Richmond, BCSt. George's School
8Chris Dyck   
9Brent Malish Forward6-6210 Langley, BCBrookswood Secondary
10Brett Leversage   
11Kyle Watson Forward6-6200 Richmond, BCRobert Alexander McMath Secondary
12Bryson Kool  Pitt Meadows, BCPitt Meadows Secondary
13Graham Bath Forward6-5230 Langley, BCBrookswood Secondary
14Matt Rachar   
15Nathan Yu Guard6-2190 Prince George, BC(Vancouver College)
16Balraj Bains Centre6-9215 North Delta, BCNorth Delta Secondary

Awards presented

Kevin Hanson Canada West Coach of the Year
Chris Dyck Canada West Ken Shields Student-Athlete Community Award, Canada West Second Team All-Star, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Josh Whyte Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Aug 23, 2008Vancouver, BCSan Francisco StateWin77-62  
Sat Aug 30, 2008Vancouver, BCTulsaLoss65-78  
Sun Aug 31, 2008Vancouver, BCCal State FullertonWin99-81  
Thu Oct 9, 2008Vancouver, BCWilfrid LaurierWin96-67  
Sat Oct 11, 2008Vancouver, BCWilfrid LaurierWin93-37  
Sun Oct 19, 2008Vancouver, BCLakeheadWin97-67  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 24, 2008Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin79-69  
Sat Oct 25, 2008Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin84-56  
Thu Oct 30, 2008Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin96-89  
Sat Nov 1, 2008Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin71-59  
Fri Nov 7, 2008Victoria, BCVictoriaWin65-57  
Sat Nov 8, 2008Victoria, BCVictoriaWin86-77  
Fri Nov 14, 2008Brandon, MBBrandonWin87-74  
Sat Nov 15, 2008Regina, SKReginaLoss73-76  
Fri Nov 21, 2008Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin90-69  
Sat Nov 22, 2008Burnaby, BCSimon FraserWin83-69  
Fri Nov 28, 2008Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin72-65  
Sat Jan 3, 2009Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin106-51  
Sun Jan 4, 2009Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin94-58  
Thu Jan 8, 2009Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss78-87  
Sat Jan 10, 2009Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin79-67  
Fri Jan 16, 2009Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin98-58  
Sat Jan 17, 2009Vancouver, BCManitobaWin91-64  
Fri Jan 23, 2009Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyWin88-65  
Sat Jan 24, 2009Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyWin86-67  
Fri Jan 30, 2009Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin87-32  
Sat Jan 31, 2009Vancouver, BCCalgaryWin91-76  
Fri Feb 6, 2009Vancouver, BCThompson RiversWin89-73  
Sat Feb 7, 2009Vancouver, BCFraser ValleyWin84-63  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 13, 2009Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin97-72 Canada West West Playoff
Sat Feb 14, 2009Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin101-84 Canada West West Playoff
Fri Feb 20, 2009Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin83-80 Canada West West Final
Sat Feb 21, 2009Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin80-64 Canada West West Final
Fri Feb 27, 2009Vancouver, BCBrandonWin92-71 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Feb 28, 2009Vancouver, BCCalgaryLoss76-80 Canada West Championship
Fri Mar 13, 2009Ottawa, ONDalhousieWin78-54 CIS Final Eight Quarter Final
Sat Mar 14, 2009Ottawa, ONCalgaryWin79-74 CIS Final Eight Semi Final
Sun Mar 15, 2009Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss77-87 CIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Chris Dyck2255825.440-12432.3109-27739.449-5983.115-83984.537544943830714.0
Josh Whyte2153725.615-4235.7100-20449.075-10075.029-46753.6461034623929013.8
Blain LaBranche2346420.240-10438.579-18442.963-7682.913-36492.129424251626111.3
Brent Malish2347320.625-6637.975-16246.325-3767.630-1051355.958143314122008.7
Matt Rachar2349321.41-911.176-15549.037-6457.843-861295.664223712291908.3
Bryson Kool2346720.30-00.068-13849.336-6060.041-841255.453142727101727.5
Nathan Yu2334114.825-6339.756-12345.513-1968.415-13281.23023234181506.5
Kyle Watson1932517.18-2334.841-7951.928-3873.724-51753.94219222271186.2
Alex Murphy2340217.54-2615.432-8836.440-5572.76-38441.92867371151084.7
Graham Bath1919210.10-10.027-5054.018-2378.322-17392.14371836723.8
Balraj Bains211868.90-00.023-3369.711-2055.030-26562.747112174572.7
Akeem Pierre141107.93-1421.48-2927.65-862.52-9110.81981206241.7
Brett Leversage9778.60-00.04-4100.00-00.01-780.971180580.9
* Team Totals234625201.1161-47234.1698-152645.7400-55971.6271-60187237.950338536691225195785.1