Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

McGill Martlets - 2008-09 Season

Head Coach:Ryan Thorne (6th season)
Other staff: Helen Magdalinos (Assistant Coach), Stephanie Dyck (Assistant Coach), Andrew Persons (Assistant Coach), Earl Zukerman (Sports Information)
League:QSSF

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
5-110.312891-104555.7 - 65.36-190.2401374-160755.0 - 64.38-200.2861552-178655.4 - 63.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Nathifa Weekes Guard5-64Brossard, QCDawson College
5Stephanie Bergeron Guard5-64Montreal, QC(Franklin Pierce)
6Anneth Him-Lazarenko Forward5-101Ste-Dorothee, QCVanier College
7Aurelie Lauzier Guard5-72Cowansville, QCDawson College
8Shannon Lockhart Guard5-7 Abbotsford, BC 
8Alexandra Pecar Forward5-91Richmond Hill, ONSt. Ignatius of Loyola Secondary
9Marie-Pier Brabant Guard5-11Cowansville, QCVanier College
10Rikki Bowles Guard5-34East Farham, QCJohn Abbott College
11Shavern Weekes Guard5-62Brossard, QCDawson College
12Caroline Hebert Forward5-114Repentigny, QCVanier College
20Elise Lepine Forward5-111Mission, BCMission Secondary
21Jennifer O'Brien Forward6-01St. Ignatius of Loyola Secondary

Awards presented

Anneth Him-Lazarenko RSEQ Recrue de l'annee (Rookie of the Year), RSEQ Premiere equipe d'etoiles (First Team All-Star), RSEQ Equipe d'etoiles des recrues (All Rookie Team), CIS All-Rookie Team
Elise Lepine RSEQ Equipe d'etoiles des recrues (All Rookie Team)
Nathifa Weekes RSEQ Joueuse defensive de l'annee (Defensive Player)

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Oct 4, 2008Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss38-69  
Fri Oct 17, 2008Montreal, QCAcadiaLoss52-56 McGill Redbird Classic
Sat Oct 18, 2008Montreal, QCAlbertaLoss54-80 McGill Redbird Classic
Sun Oct 19, 2008Montreal, QCWesternLoss45-59 McGill Redbird Classic
Fri Oct 31, 2008Rochester, NYNazareth CollegeWin79-39  
Sat Nov 1, 2008Kingston, ONRMCWin67-42  
Sun Nov 2, 2008Kingston, ONQueensLoss65-71  
Sat Nov 8, 2008Burlington, VTVermontLoss44-90  
Sun Nov 9, 2008Colchester, VTSaint Michael's CollegeWin55-50  
Sun Dec 28, 2008Montreal, QCMemorialLoss62-66 Concordia-Reebok Tournament
Mon Dec 29, 2008Montreal, QCMcMasterLoss47-63 Concordia-Reebok Tournament
Tue Dec 30, 2008Montreal, QCCarletonLoss53-56 Concordia-Reebok Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 14, 2008Montreal, QCBishopsWin64-60  
Sat Nov 15, 2008Lennoxville, QCBishopsLoss50-84  
Fri Nov 28, 2008Quebec City, QCLavalLoss55-77  
Sat Nov 29, 2008Montreal, QCLavalLoss61-68  
Fri Jan 9, 2009Montreal, QCUQAMLoss55-70  
Sat Jan 10, 2009Montreal, QCUQAMLoss47-53  
Fri Jan 16, 2009Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss53-74  
Sat Jan 17, 2009Montreal, QCConcordiaWin72-65  
Fri Jan 23, 2009Lennoxville, QCBishopsWin56-47  
Sat Jan 24, 2009Montreal, QCBishopsLoss38-50  
Thu Jan 29, 2009Montreal, QCUQAMWin66-60  
Sat Jan 31, 2009Montreal, QCUQAMWin80-67  
Fri Feb 13, 2009Montreal, QCLavalLoss43-65  
Sat Feb 14, 2009Quebec City, QCLavalLoss54-67  
Fri Feb 20, 2009Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss43-70  
Sat Feb 21, 2009Montreal, QCConcordiaLoss54-68  

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Anneth Him-Lazarenko1237731.47-1643.860-12548.051-7171.835-60957.93392521817814.8
Nathifa Weekes1648630.41-1010.062-16238.367-9769.134-64986.136454353619212.0
Stephanie Bergeron1654434.041-12133.961-20330.023-2688.59-26352.2171640 1518611.6
Elise Lepine1649931.216-5131.453-13539.310-2245.522-821046.545144021241328.2
Aurelie Lauzier1636222.63-2313.033-8439.315-2657.75-18231.444212918845.2
Marie-Pier Brabant1631519.711-5022.015-6622.71-333.39-24332.1171533 16422.6
Caroline Hebert1532321.50-20.012-6219.49-1656.215-37523.53362837332.2
Jennifer O'Brien9899.9  5-1827.89-1275.04-15192.116111 4192.1
Rikki Bowles252.51-333.31-425.0     1    31.5
Shavern Weekes1618311.40-60.07-3122.67-887.511-21322.010152019211.3
Shannon Lockhart4184.50-20.00-30.01-250.01-230.8  2 110.2
* Team Totals163201200.180-28428.2309-89334.6193-28368.2145-34949430.92521422713313889155.7


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com