Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Carleton Ravens - 2012-13 Season

Head Coach:Dave Smart (14th season)
Other staff: Rob Smart Jr. (Assistant Coach), Dean Petridis (Assistant Coach), Shawn McCleery (Assistant Coach), Manny Furtado (Assistant Coach), Andy Stewart (Strength & Conditioning Coach), Aaron Blakely (Manager), Harinder Ghuman (Nutritionist), Bruce Marshall (Therapist)
League:OUA East

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
19-10.9501819-123291.0 - 61.631-10.9692873-197689.8 - 61.834-40.8953310-234687.1 - 61.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
3Gavin Resch Guard6-21902Ottawa, ONSt. Matthew's High
5Clinton Springer-Williams Guard6-42103London, ONRegina Mundi College (Gannon)
10Connor Wood Guard6-42001Guelph, ONBishop Macdonell High (REDA)
11Thomas Scrubb Forward6-62053Richmond, BCVancouver College
13Kewyn Blain Ailier6-11701Saint-Leonard, QCChamplain Saint-Lambert
15Kyle Smendziuk Forward6-62055Kanata, ONAll Saints High
21Nathaniel Cziranka-Crooks Guard5-11 Cobourg, ON 
22Ryan Augustine Guard6-21852Toronto, ONBlessed Mother Teresa Secondary
23Philip Scrubb Guard6-31903Richmond, BCVancouver College
31Guillaume Payen Boucard Forward6-52002Montreal, QCCollege Ahuntsic
33Justin Shaver Forward6-62102Ottawa, ONJohn McCrae Secondary (Carleton)
41Kevin Churchill Forward6-72124Toronto, ONNorth Toronto Collegiate
42Tyson Hinz Forward6-72154Ottawa, ONSt. Matthew High
43Jean Emmanuel Pierre-Charles Forward6-81871Ottawa, ONAshbury College, Maine Central Institute (Carleton)
45Dan Penner Forward6-72154Winnipeg, MBMiles Macdonell Collegiate
RSCole Penman Guard6-42001Vancouver, BCVancouver College

Awards presented

Dave Smart OUA East Coach of the Year, Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (CIS Coach of the Year)
Kevin Churchill OUA East Ken Shields Nominee
Tyson Hinz OUA East First Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian, CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Philip Scrubb OUA East First Team All-Star, E.C. Lebel Plaque (OUA East MVP), Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (CIS Outstanding Player), First Team All-Canadian
Thomas Scrubb OUA East Second Team All-Star, OUA East Defensive Player of the Year, Kitch MacPherson Trophy (MVP in OUA Wilson Cup), MVP of CIAU Championship / Jack Donohue Trophy, CIS Tournament All-Star Team

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Tue Aug 14, 2012Ottawa, ONBuffaloWin77-75 NCAA Cross-Border Battle
Sat Aug 18, 2012Ottawa, ONUNLVLoss70-74 NCAA Cross-Border Battle
Wed Aug 22, 2012Ottawa, ONNortheasternWin75-62 NCAA Cross-Border Battle
Fri Sep 21, 2012Ottawa, ONLoyalist CollegeWin98-33  
Fri Oct 12, 2012Ottawa, ONQueensWin98-49 House-Laughton Tournament
Sat Oct 13, 2012Ottawa, ONLavalWin102-80 House-Laughton Tournament
Sun Oct 14, 2012Ottawa, ONDalhousieWin96-62 House-Laughton Tournament
Fri Oct 19, 2012Victoria, BCAlbertaWin77-65 Guy Vetrie Memorial Tournament
Sat Oct 20, 2012Victoria, BCVictoriaWin87-63 Guy Vetrie Memorial Tournament
Sun Oct 21, 2012Victoria, BCLethbridgeWin96-73 Guy Vetrie Memorial Tournament
Thu Nov 1, 2012Villanova, PAVillanovaLoss59-65 NCAA Cross-Border Battle
Fri Nov 2, 2012Philadelphia, PALa SalleLoss58-61 NCAA Cross-Border Battle
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 2012Windsor, ONWindsorLoss67-71  
Sat Nov 10, 2012London, ONWesternWin86-46  
Fri Nov 16, 2012Ottawa, ONBrockWin89-50  
Sat Nov 17, 2012Ottawa, ONMcMasterWin100-88  
Fri Nov 23, 2012Ottawa, ONLakeheadWin94-53  
Sat Nov 24, 2012Ottawa, ONGuelphWin104-54  
Fri Nov 30, 2012Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin73-43Stats 
Sat Dec 1, 2012Waterloo, ONWilfrid LaurierWin100-72  
Fri Jan 4, 2013Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin81-57  
Sat Jan 5, 2013Toronto, ONYorkWin112-62  
Fri Jan 11, 2013Toronto, ONTorontoWin91-57  
Sat Jan 12, 2013Toronto, ONRyersonWin91-66  
Sat Jan 19, 2013Ottawa, ONQueensWin104-63  
Wed Jan 23, 2013Ottawa, ONOttawaWin63-58 Capital Hoops Classic
Fri Jan 25, 2013Ottawa, ONYorkWin106-62  
Sat Jan 26, 2013Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin90-66  
Fri Feb 1, 2013Kingston, ONQueensWin99-57 Marco Alessio Memorial Game
Fri Feb 8, 2013Ottawa, ONRyersonWin75-57  
Sat Feb 9, 2013Ottawa, ONTorontoWin83-43  
Sat Feb 16, 2013Ottawa, ONOttawaWin111-1073OT 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 23, 2013Ottawa, ONLaurentianWin95-75StatsOUA East Semifinal
Fri Mar 1, 2013Toronto, ONLakeheadWin72-51StatsOUA Semifinal
Sat Mar 2, 2013Toronto, ONOttawaWin72-69StatsOUA Championship
Fri Mar 8, 2013Ottawa, ONVictoriaWin83-46StatsCIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 9, 2013Ottawa, ONAcadiaWin84-69StatsCIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 10, 2013Ottawa, ONLakeheadWin92-42StatsCIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Philip Scrubb2057928.960-14142.6113-24645.986-10086.012-53653.237693583237218.6
Tyson Hinz2056228.113-4429.5106-20651.581-10180.248-791276.337612882030615.3
Thomas Scrubb2060930.426-8032.598-20847.122-3268.843-1041477.3415827122124412.2
Clinton Springer-Williams2037918.945-9248.972-14649.313-1968.416-55713.53214203820210.1
Kewyn Blain2043821.917-3745.960-14940.341-5969.516-58743.74431294291788.9
Dan Penner1938920.514-3342.444-10243.132-4178.040-44844.442151713111347.1
Kevin Churchill2029014.50-10.043-7855.121-2875.025-35603.0371416391075.3
Gavin Resch1723113.620-5536.427-6640.99-1369.28-20281.6251211115834.9
Connor Wood1819410.820-4742.628-6145.97-887.59-23321.82295 4834.6
Justin Shaver151016.70-10.018-3946.26-966.720-12322.12061132422.8
Jean Emmanuel Pierre-Charles161438.91-520.014-2751.99-1275.09-19281.8243334382.4
Kyle Smendziuk191658.7  12-2450.04-1040.013-21341.8245715281.5
Guillaume Payen Boucard2115.5  0-40.02-2100.03-142.0  1  21.0
Nathaniel Cziranka-Crooks111.0      0-111.0   1 00.0
* Team Totals204092204.6216-53640.3635-135646.8333-43476.7262-52578739.438529721060160181991.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Philip Scrubb26 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Acadia5 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Ottawa5 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead
Thomas Scrubb22 on Feb 23, 2013 vs Laurentian9 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Ottawa4 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria
Tyson Hinz18 on Feb 23, 2013 vs Laurentian11 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Acadia4 on Feb 23, 2013 vs Laurentian
Clinton Springer-Williams17 on Feb 23, 2013 vs Laurentian12 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead2 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead
Kevin Churchill16 on Feb 23, 2013 vs Laurentian6 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria3 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Lakehead
Dan Penner10 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead6 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Ottawa1 on Feb 23, 2013 vs Laurentian
Kewyn Blain8 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead5 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Ottawa4 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria
Gavin Resch7 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria1 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead1 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead
Connor Wood6 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria2 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria3 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Lakehead
Kyle Smendziuk4 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Acadia6 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria1 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Lakehead
Justin Shaver2 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria1 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria1 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Lakehead
Jean Emmanuel Pierre-Charles 1 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Victoria 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com