Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Women's site

Lakehead Thunderwolves - 2012-13 Season

Head Coach:Scott Morrison (10th season)
Other staff: Matt Erdman (Assistant Coach), Mark English (Assistant Coach)
League:OUA West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
14-70.6671659-144079.0 - 68.628-120.7003149-279678.7 - 69.930-130.6983369-299278.3 - 69.6

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
4Anthony McIntosh Forward6-63Ottawa, ONSt. Patrick's High
5Yoosrie Salhia Post6-55Toronto, ON 
6Dwayne Harvey Guard5-103Hamilton, ONCathedral High (Wilbur Wright Junior College)
7Joseph Nitychoruk Forward6-52152Winnipeg, MBSt. Paul's High
8Nathan Wainwright Guard6-03Kapuskasing, ON 
9Ryan Thomson Post6-74Oakville, ONSt. Thomas Aquinas Secondary
10Greg Carter Guard5-105Ottawa, ONSt. Patrick's High
11Benjamin Johnson Guard6-15Pictou, NSSt. David Secondary (College of Saint Rose)
12Joe Hart Guard6-41Southend, England(Blair Academy)
13Matthew Schmidt Forward6-75Thunder Bay, ON 
15Brendan King Post6-75Petawawa, ON 
21Joseph Jones Guard6-25Washington, DC 
22Alexandre Robichaud Guard6-31Thunder Bay, ONSuperior Collegiate
23Brandon Myketa Guard/Forward6-21Thunder Bay, ON 

Awards presented

Greg Carter OUA West Defensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year
Joe Hart OUA West All Rookie Team
Joseph Jones CIS Tournament All-Star Team
Yoosrie Salhia OUA West First Team All-Star
Ryan Thomson OUA West First Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Aug 22, 2012Thunder Bay, ONWisconsin-StoutLoss76-91  
Thu Aug 23, 2012Thunder Bay, ONWisconsin-StoutWin64-52  
Fri Sep 28, 2012Thunder Bay, ONBrandonWin83-56 Zanatta Weekend
Sat Sep 29, 2012Thunder Bay, ONBrandonWin92-69 Zanatta Weekend
Thu Oct 4, 2012Thunder Bay, ONWinnipegWin84-75  
Fri Oct 5, 2012Thunder Bay, ONWinnipegWin90-80  
Thu Oct 18, 2012Saskatoon, SKConcordiaWin90-74 Graham Shootout
Fri Oct 19, 2012Saskatoon, SKReginaWin95-63 Graham Shootout
Sat Oct 20, 2012Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss71-80 Graham Shootout
Wed Oct 24, 2012Victoria, BCVictoriaWin80-71  
Thu Oct 25, 2012Abbotsford, BCUNBCWin88-72 Honda Way Basketball Weekend
Fri Oct 26, 2012Abbotsford, BCFraser ValleyLoss70-88 Honda Way Basketball Weekend
Sat Oct 27, 2012Vancouver, BCUBCLoss81-84  
Fri Dec 28, 2012Winnipeg, ONUNBCWin90-50 Wesmen Classic
Sat Dec 29, 2012Winnipeg, ONDickinson StateWin80-53 Wesmen Classic
Sun Dec 30, 2012Winnipeg, ONWinnipegWin84-67 Wesmen Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 9, 2012Toronto, ONRyersonLoss64-69  
Sat Nov 10, 2012Toronto, ONTorontoWin94-73  
Fri Nov 16, 2012Thunder Bay, ONQueensLoss87-96  
Fri Nov 23, 2012Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss53-94  
Sat Nov 24, 2012Ottawa, ONOttawaLoss67-82  
Fri Nov 30, 2012Thunder Bay, ONLaurentianWin90-71  
Sat Dec 1, 2012Thunder Bay, ONYorkWin93-58  
Fri Jan 4, 2013Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin93-59Stats 
Sat Jan 5, 2013Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin85-52Stats 
Fri Jan 11, 2013Thunder Bay, ONBrockWin81-65  
Sat Jan 12, 2013Thunder Bay, ONBrockLoss67-70  
Fri Jan 18, 2013London, ONWesternWin62-55  
Sat Jan 19, 2013London, ONWesternWin90-52  
Fri Jan 25, 2013Thunder Bay, ONWilfrid LaurierWin80-53  
Sat Jan 26, 2013Thunder Bay, ONWilfrid LaurierWin101-75  
Fri Feb 1, 2013Guelph, ONGuelphWin87-55  
Sat Feb 2, 2013Guelph, ONGuelphWin79-66  
Fri Feb 8, 2013Thunder Bay, ONWindsorWin70-64  
Sat Feb 9, 2013Thunder Bay, ONWindsorLoss56-64  
Fri Feb 15, 2013Hamilton, ONMcMasterWin78-75  
Sat Feb 16, 2013Hamilton, ONMcMasterLoss82-92  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 23, 2013Thunder Bay, ONMcMasterWin81-76StatsOUA West Semifinal
Fri Mar 1, 2013Toronto, ONCarletonLoss51-72StatsOUA Semifinal
Sat Mar 2, 2013Toronto, ONWindsorWin78-64StatsOUA Bronze Medal
Fri Mar 8, 2013Ottawa, ONCape BretonWin74-61StatsCIS Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 9, 2013Ottawa, ONOttawaWin66-62StatsCIS Semifinal
Sun Mar 10, 2013Ottawa, ONCarletonLoss42-92StatsCIS Championship

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Ryan Thomson1640725.434-7843.681-16549.135-4087.58-65734.641322271323114.4
Yoosrie Salhia2049724.92-825.094-19249.063-9169.279-12820710.3464445321825312.7
Benjamin Johnson2156126.734-10632.165-19633.237-5172.520-46663.13627281122019.6
Greg Carter2155926.611-3729.769-16641.640-7156.329-62914.34684495451899.0
Matthew Schmidt2135717.025-5149.059-12447.630-3683.316-48643.0371720781738.2
Dwayne Harvey2152324.99-2832.157-12944.237-7152.127-59864.1426934 361607.6
Joseph Jones1934918.415-5328.342-11337.232-4669.615-40552.9391928 191316.9
Joe Hart2140119.131-8835.247-12637.311-1291.717-39562.72619222111366.5
Brendan King810312.91-333.313-3240.69-1275.04-11151.9185914364.5
Joseph Nitychoruk161217.60-10.031-5556.48-1457.121-28493.12862055704.4
Anthony McIntosh11857.70-10.09-2536.08-1553.38-13211.91134 2262.4
Nathan Wainwright191256.610-3231.213-3933.33-475.04-10140.71267 5392.1
Alexandre Robichaud141087.72-450.04-1136.44-757.12-350.418510 3141.0
Brandon Myketa242.0  0-10.0         100.0
* Team Totals214200200.0174-49035.5584-137442.5317-47067.4250-55280238.240033629860182165979.0

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Benjamin Johnson25 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton6 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster2 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton
Joseph Jones24 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Ottawa6 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Ottawa4 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Windsor
Dwayne Harvey17 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster10 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton8 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton
Greg Carter12 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster5 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Carleton9 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster
Joseph Nitychoruk12 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Carleton9 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton1 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton
Joe Hart11 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton5 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton2 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton
Matthew Schmidt8 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Ottawa8 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Windsor1 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton
Ryan Thomson8 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster5 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster5 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster
Yoosrie Salhia7 on Mar 2, 2013 vs Windsor8 on Mar 8, 2013 vs Cape Breton 
Brendan King5 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton6 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Ottawa1 on Mar 9, 2013 vs Ottawa
Anthony McIntosh3 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton2 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton 
Nathan Wainwright3 on Feb 23, 2013 vs McMaster1 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Carleton1 on Mar 10, 2013 vs Carleton
Alexandre Robichaud  1 on Mar 1, 2013 vs Carleton


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com