U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

UBC Thunderbirds - 2015-16 Season

Head Coach:Kevin Hanson (16th season)
Other staff: Spencer McKay (Assistant Coach), Vern Knopp (Assistant Coach), Dahman Boudraa (Assistant Coach), Pasha Bains (Assistant Coach), Kevin Wilson (Trainer), John Tan (Trainer), Charles Dai (Manager)
League:CanWest Pioneer
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIS RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
16-40.8001671-142083.5 - 71.024-70.7742601-223583.9 - 72.128-90.7573155-269585.3 - 72.8

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
1Elijah Campbell-Axson Guard6-02002Vancouver, BCVancouver City College
2Will Ondrik Forward6-72204Vernon, BCWhite Rock Christian (Thompson Rivers)
3A.J. Holloway Guard6-21954Tacoma, WALakes High (Bellevue Community)
5Taylor Browne Guard6-21801Surrey, BCHoly Cross Regional
6Jordan Jensen-Whyte Guard6-62054Calgary, ABWestern Canada High (The Rock Academy)
7Phil Jalalpoor Guard6-22003Shifferstadt, GermanyPaul-Von-Denis (Olds College)
8David Wagner Forward6-92455Kamloops, BCSouth Kamloops Secondary
9Conor Morgan Guard/Forward6-92253Victoria, BCMount Douglas Secondary
10Dominic Gilbert Forward6-62151Sydney, AustraliaReno International Prep (Copiah Academy)
11Patrick Simon Forward6-82402Port Coquitlam, BCArchbishop Carney Regional Secondary (Simon Fraser)
14Roger Milne Forward6-82451Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
15Luka Zaharijevic Forward6-82603Vancouver, BCKitsilano Secondary

Awards presented

Taylor Browne Canada West All Rookie Team
Jordan Jensen-Whyte Canada West First Team All-Star, Second Team All-Canadian
Conor Morgan Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 2, 2015Vancouver, BCGuelphWin79-68 UBC Invitational
Sat Oct 3, 2015Vancouver, BCOttawaLoss77-84 UBC Invitational
Sun Oct 4, 2015Vancouver, BCMemorialWin88-81 UBC Invitational
Sat Oct 24, 2015Vancouver, BCSeattle MountaineersLoss89-92  
Tue Oct 27, 2015Vancouver, BCSimon FraserWin101-71 Buchanan Cup
Fri Oct 30, 2015Vancouver, BCMount RoyalWin87-71  
Sat Oct 31, 2015Vancouver, BCEvergreen StateWin119-76  
Tue Dec 29, 2015Santa Barbara, CAAntelope ValleyWin93-71 Tom Byron Classic
Wed Dec 30, 2015Santa Barbara, CAWestmontLoss70-83 Tom Byron Classic
Sat Jan 2, 2016Fullerton, CAHope InternationalWin82-67  
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 6, 2015Vancouver, BCAlbertaLoss74-79  
Sat Nov 7, 2015Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin82-54  
Fri Nov 13, 2015Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin94-69  
Sat Nov 14, 2015Vancouver, BCTrinity WesternWin85-75  
Fri Nov 20, 2015Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin81-72  
Sat Nov 21, 2015Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin101-98OT 
Fri Nov 27, 2015Calgary. ABCalgaryWin83-76  
Sat Nov 28, 2015Calgary. ABCalgaryLoss82-101  
Fri Jan 8, 2016Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin95-73  
Sat Jan 9, 2016Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin85-79  
Fri Jan 15, 2016Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss64-66  
Sat Jan 16, 2016Winnipeg, MBManitobaWin76-66  
Fri Jan 22, 2016Vancouver, BCReginaWin78-57  
Sat Jan 23, 2016Vancouver, BCReginaLoss79-83  
Fri Jan 29, 2016Victoria, BCVictoriaWin79-51  
Sat Jan 30, 2016Victoria, BCVictoriaWin86-67  
Fri Feb 12, 2016Brandon, MBBrandonWin85-67  
Sat Feb 13, 2016Brandon, MBBrandonWin84-68  
Fri Feb 19, 2016Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin99-52  
Sat Feb 20, 2016Vancouver, BCWinnipegWin79-67  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Mar 3, 2016Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin81-57StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 4, 2016Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin85-57StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Fri Mar 11, 2016Calgary. ABThompson RiversLoss69-72StatsCanada West Semifinal
Sat Mar 12, 2016Calgary. ABManitobaWin101-72StatsCanada West Bronze Medal
Thu Mar 17, 2016Vancouver, BCRyersonLoss101-109OT, StatsCIS Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 18, 2016Vancouver, BCMcGillWin69-68StatsCIS Consolation Semifinal
Sat Mar 19, 2016Vancouver, BCOttawaWin93-76StatsCIS Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Jordan Jensen-Whyte2059129.68-3026.789-18548.1114-13584.432-681005.033624321930015.0
Conor Morgan2051625.822-8326.5107-25242.560-9165.926-1191457.2633351302529614.8
David Wagner1745326.67-2528.092-16256.815-2853.630-63935.529164010720612.1
Phil Jalalpoor2052626.340-9542.184-16451.220-2580.010-80904.564513672422811.4
Will Ondrik2048424.215-4632.655-11547.831-3979.521-73944.72542350251567.8
Patrick Simon2035517.815-4136.645-10045.026-3966.724-51753.8471742531316.5
A.J. Holloway2043721.98-3423.539-11135.142-5280.813-53663.34947444221286.4
Taylor Browne2025412.721-5438.934-7644.74-666.79-26351.829111628934.7
Luka Zaharijevic191688.80-00.029-5453.710-1758.816-21371.9144831683.6
Dominic Gilbert191316.93-1717.611-3333.310-1952.66-37432.31413924351.8
Roger Milne13534.12-366.77-1163.62-450.04-6100.862411181.4
Elijah Campbell-Axson12554.61-425.04-850.03-475.01-780.763200121.0
* Team Totals204023201.2142-43232.9596-127146.9337-45973.4192-60479639.837930133066139167183.5

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Conor Morgan28 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba8 on Mar 19, 2016 vs Ottawa2 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge
Jordan Jensen-Whyte25 on Mar 3, 2016 vs Lethbridge5 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge5 on Mar 11, 2016 vs Thompson Rivers
David Wagner22 on Mar 17, 2016 vs Ryerson9 on Mar 11, 2016 vs Thompson Rivers2 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge
Phil Jalalpoor19 on Mar 19, 2016 vs Ottawa6 on Mar 3, 2016 vs Lethbridge7 on Mar 17, 2016 vs Ryerson
Will Ondrik16 on Mar 19, 2016 vs Ottawa6 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge4 on Mar 17, 2016 vs Ryerson
Taylor Browne15 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba8 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge1 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge
Patrick Simon12 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba5 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba2 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba
A.J. Holloway10 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba5 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba8 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge
Elijah Campbell-Axson6 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge3 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba1 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba
Dominic Gilbert5 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba2 on Mar 12, 2016 vs Manitoba2 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge
Luka Zaharijevic4 on Mar 18, 2016 vs McGill5 on Mar 4, 2016 vs Lethbridge1 on Mar 19, 2016 vs Ottawa
Roger Milne   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com