U Sports Hoops
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards Other History Contact Women's site

UBC Thunderbirds - 2016-17 Season

Head Coach:Kevin Hanson (17th season)
Other staff: Spencer McKay (Assistant Coach), Vern Knopp (Assistant Coach), Dahman Boudraa (Assistant Coach)
League:Canada West
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordU Sports RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
19-10.9501863-140193.2 - 70.025-30.8932609-199993.2 - 71.433-70.8253655-282091.4 - 70.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Izaiah Ugoalah Guard/Forward6-51951Vancouver, BCSir Winston Churchill Secondary (UBC)
2Will Ondrik Forward6-72205Vernon, BCWhite Rock Christian (Thompson Rivers)
3A.J. Holloway Guard6-21954Tacoma, WALakes High (Bellevue Community)
4Isaiah Familia Guard6-12001Windsor, ONHoly Names High
5Taylor Browne Guard6-21802Surrey, BCHoly Cross Regional
6Jordan Jensen-Whyte Guard6-62055Calgary, ABWestern Canada High (The Rock Academy)
7Phil Jalalpoor Guard6-22004Shifferstadt, GermanyPaul-Von-Denis (Olds College)
8Parker Simson Guard6-22001Kelowna, BCKelowna Secondary
9Conor Morgan Guard/Forward6-92254Victoria, BCMount Douglas Secondary
11Patrick Simon Forward6-82403Port Coquitlam, BCArchbishop Carney Regional Secondary (Simon Fraser)
12Justin McChesney Forward6-92051Prince Rupert, BCCharles Hays Secondary
13Harpreet Randhawa Forward6-82054Williams Lake, BC(Douglas College)
14Roger Milne Forward6-82452Winnipeg, MBOak Park High
15Luka Zaharijevic Forward6-82604Vancouver, BCKitsilano Secondary
RSJauquin Bennett-Boire Guard6-2210 Saskatoon, SKYale Secondary (Saskatchewan)
RSCharles Dai Guard5-10168 Weifang, ChinaWeifang No 1 School
RSHarry Liu Guard/Forward6-4205 Vancouver, BCSir Winston Churchill Secondary (UBC)
RSJerome Thompson Forward6-4190 Lane Cove, AustraliaGreensboro Day School

Awards presented

Kevin Hanson Canada West Coach of the Year
Phil Jalalpoor Canada West Ken Shields Student-Athlete Community Award
Jordan Jensen-Whyte Canada West Second Team All-Star, Canada West Defensive Player of the Year
Conor Morgan Canada West First Team All-Star, Canada West Player of the Year, First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Jul 13, 2016Taipei, TaiwanTsinghua (Beijing) UniversityWin88-54 Top University Basketball Tournament
Thu Jul 14, 2016Taipei, TaiwanNational Taiwan Normal UniversWin71-43 Top University Basketball Tournament
Fri Jul 15, 2016Taipei, TaiwanNTUS TaiwanWin108-46 Top University Basketball Tournament
Sat Jul 16, 2016Taipei, TaiwanChung-Ang UniversityWin101-74 Top University Basketball Tournament
Sun Jul 17, 2016Taipei, TaiwanNagoya Gakuin UniversityWin119-60 Top University Basketball Tournament
Thu Aug 11, 2016Vancouver, BCUNC CharlotteLoss71-89  
Fri Oct 7, 2016Vancouver, BCSeattle MountaineersWin87-66  
Fri Oct 14, 2016Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin94-81  
Sun Oct 16, 2016Vancouver, BCLethbridgeWin101-73  
Fri Oct 21, 2016Edmonton, ABWesternWin94-70 Golden Bears Invitational
Sat Oct 22, 2016Edmonton, ABNipissingWin83-59 Golden Bears Invitational
Fri Oct 28, 2016Vancouver, BCWilfrid LaurierWin96-63 UBC Invitational
Sat Oct 29, 2016Vancouver, BCLakeheadWin107-75 UBC Invitational
Fri Nov 11, 2016Vancouver, BCNorthwest ChristianLoss80-92OT 
Sat Nov 12, 2016Vancouver, BCNorthwest ChristianWin80-66  
Wed Dec 28, 2016Phoenix, AZFuture CollegeWin86-71 Phoenix College Holiday Classic
Thu Dec 29, 2016Phoenix, AZPhoenix CollegeLoss73-75 Phoenix College Holiday Classic
Fri Dec 30, 2016Phoenix, AZCochise CollegeLoss82-85OTPhoenix College Holiday Classic
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 4, 2016Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin96-60  
Sat Nov 5, 2016Kamloops, BCThompson RiversWin78-67  
Fri Nov 18, 2016Vancouver, BCManitobaWin96-89  
Sat Nov 19, 2016Vancouver, BCManitobaWin75-72  
Fri Nov 25, 2016Victoria, BCVictoriaWin82-69  
Sun Nov 27, 2016Vancouver, BCVictoriaWin93-89OT 
Fri Dec 2, 2016Vancouver, BCUBC OkanaganWin100-64  
Sat Dec 3, 2016Vancouver, BCUBC OkanaganWin96-49  
Fri Jan 6, 2017Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss78-95  
Sat Jan 7, 2017Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin83-74  
Fri Jan 13, 2017Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin78-68  
Sat Jan 14, 2017Vancouver, BCAlbertaWin102-76  
Fri Jan 20, 2017Calgary, ABMount RoyalWin81-60  
Sat Jan 21, 2017Calgary, ABMount RoyalWin88-79  
Fri Jan 27, 2017Vancouver, BCBrandonWin127-62  
Sat Jan 28, 2017Vancouver, BCBrandonWin87-53  
Fri Feb 3, 2017Vancouver, BCUNBCWin123-75  
Sat Feb 4, 2017Vancouver, BCUNBCWin109-61  
Fri Feb 10, 2017Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin87-67  
Sat Feb 11, 2017Langley, BCTrinity WesternWin104-72  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Thu Feb 23, 2017Vancouver, BCManitobaLoss75-79StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Fri Feb 24, 2017Vancouver, BCManitobaLoss96-98OT, StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Conor Morgan1948525.537-8543.5161-28356.979-10476.027-1151427.5523452282743823.1
Jordan Jensen-Whyte2061530.811-3729.7104-20151.798-14468.129-741035.230754453531715.8
Will Ondrik2051725.912-3237.571-13951.145-6173.827-54814.03737275201999.9
Taylor Browne2036218.143-10142.660-13444.817-2277.312-54663.35012243151809.0
Luka Zaharijevic1826914.90-10.056-9360.224-3666.723-46693.8311421181367.6
Isaiah Familia2036518.229-8334.942-11237.527-4560.020-52723.63438143131407.0
Patrick Simon2034417.213-3834.240-9940.441-5475.927-47743.7478217121346.7
A.J. Holloway1936219.115-4235.733-8339.834-3597.14-44482.55340442221156.1
Phil Jalalpoor1941521.816-6425.041-12233.612-2060.023-46693.6345233181105.8
Harpreet Randhawa10949.41-333.315-2462.58-8100.014-23373.7189214393.9
Izaiah Ugoalah12907.55-1338.510-2343.53-650.04-480.736313282.3
Roger Milne16865.40-20.08-1457.110-1283.39-8171.176713261.6
Justin McChesney2147.00-10.00-10.01-250.00-221.01110110.5
* Team Totals204018200.9182-50236.3641-132848.3399-54972.7219-56978839.439733229358171186393.2

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Jordan Jensen-Whyte33 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba10 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba
Patrick Simon21 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba1 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba
Will Ondrik16 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba2 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba
Conor Morgan14 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba2 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba
A.J. Holloway10 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba3 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba4 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba
Phil Jalalpoor6 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba2 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba2 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba
Luka Zaharijevic4 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba 
Taylor Browne3 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba1 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba 
Isaiah Familia2 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba3 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba 
Harpreet Randhawa2 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba6 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Manitoba1 on Feb 23, 2017 vs Manitoba


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com