Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Fraser Valley Cascades - 2016-17 Season

Head Coach:Al Tuchscherer (11th season)
Other staff: Tara Burton (Assistant Coach), Chantel Ewert (Assistant Coach), Chris Harvey (Assistant Coach), Denise Tuchscherer (Assistant Coach), Avneet Brar (Assistant Coach)
League:Canada West
Website:Team website link

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordU Sports RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-80.6001254-123962.7 - 62.015-170.4691942-207060.7 - 64.718-220.4502467-258961.7 - 64.7

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
1Jessica Zawada Forward5-101Richmond, BCRobert Alexander McMath Secondary
2Sara Simovic Guard5-84Nanaimo, BCWellington Secondary (Vancouver Island)
3Shayna Litman Forward5-114Coquitlam, BCCentennial Secondary
5Victoria Jacobse Guard5-111Mission, BCW.J. Mouat Secondary
7Kayli Sartori Guard-Forward6-15Chilliwack, BCW.J. Mouat Secondary
8Sydney Williams Guard5-73Langley, BCBrookswood Secondary
9Jessica Cameron Guard5-101Calgary, ABWestern Canada High
10Taylor Claggett Forward5-112Mission, BCMennonite Educational
11Katherine Holden Guard5-91Chilliwack, BCG.W. Graham Secondary
12Veronica Kobes Forward6-21Abbotsford, BCCredo Christian
13Amelia Worrell Guard5-43Liberia, Costa RicaK12 International Academy (Kwantlen)
14Amanda Thompson Guard5-101Abbotsford, BCW.J. Mouat Secondary
RSAlexis Worrell Guard5-7 Liberia, Costa RicaAcademia Teocali

Awards presented

Kayli Sartori Canada West Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Aug 10, 2016Abbotsford, BCWisconsinLoss50-64  
Fri Aug 12, 2016Abbotsford, BCFlorida AtlanticLoss77-90  
Sat Aug 27, 2016Abbotsford, BCJapan Under-18 TeamLoss51-58  
Sat Sep 24, 2016Abbotsford, BCLangara CollegeWin95-28  
Fri Sep 30, 2016New Westminster, BCDouglas CollegeWin87-41  
Thu Oct 6, 2016Regina, SKAlbertaLoss56-76 Cougar Classic
Fri Oct 7, 2016Regina, SKCarletonLoss43-61 Cougar Classic
Sat Oct 8, 2016Regina, SKRyersonLoss51-73 Cougar Classic
Fri Oct 14, 2016Vancouver, BCUBCLoss62-84Stats 
Sat Oct 15, 2016Abbotsford, BCCapilano CollegeWin54-40  
Fri Oct 21, 2016Lewiston, IDLewis-Clark StateLoss48-88  
Sat Oct 22, 2016Lewiston, IDLewis-Clark StateLoss63-110  
Fri Oct 28, 2016Victoria, BCReginaLoss57-66 Canada West Tournament
Sat Oct 29, 2016Victoria, BCCalgaryLoss43-67 Canada West Tournament
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Nov 4, 2016Abbotsford, BCSaskatchewanLoss44-53Stats 
Sat Nov 5, 2016Abbotsford, BCSaskatchewanWin59-48Stats 
Fri Nov 11, 2016Abbotsford, BCTrinity WesternWin60-47Stats 
Sat Nov 12, 2016Langley, BCTrinity WesternLoss51-65Stats 
Fri Nov 25, 2016Abbotsford, BCUNBCWin59-55Stats 
Sat Nov 26, 2016Abbotsford, BCUNBCWin75-63Stats 
Fri Dec 2, 2016Brandon, MBBrandonLoss62-75Stats 
Sat Dec 3, 2016Brandon, MBBrandonWin68-66Stats 
Fri Jan 6, 2017Abbotsford, BCMacEwanWin73-70Stats 
Sat Jan 7, 2017Abbotsford, BCMacEwanWin59-55Stats 
Thu Jan 12, 2017Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss59-69Stats 
Fri Jan 13, 2017Calgary, ABCalgaryWin69-60Stats 
Fri Jan 20, 2017Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss51-63Stats 
Sat Jan 21, 2017Edmonton, ABAlbertaLoss53-56Stats 
Fri Jan 27, 2017Abbotsford, BCThompson RiversWin69-64Stats 
Sat Jan 28, 2017Abbotsford, BCThompson RiversWin82-77Stats 
Fri Feb 3, 2017Abbotsford, BCVictoriaLoss57-68Stats 
Sat Feb 4, 2017Abbotsford, BCVictoriaWin75-66Stats 
Fri Feb 10, 2017Kelowna, BCUBC OkanaganLoss62-64Stats 
Sat Feb 11, 2017Kelowna, BCUBC OkanaganWin67-55Stats 
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 17, 2017Abbotsford, BCCalgaryLoss48-67StatsCanada West play in series (best of 3)
Sat Feb 18, 2017Abbotsford, BCCalgaryWin61-59StatsCanada West play in series (best of 3)
Sun Feb 19, 2017Abbotsford, BCCalgaryWin69-60StatsCanada West play in series (best of 3 final)
Thu Feb 23, 2017Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss55-78StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Fri Feb 24, 2017Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin74-62StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3)
Sat Feb 25, 2017Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanLoss69-78StatsCanada West Quarterfinal (best of 3 final)

Overall scoring summary for the season

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kayli Sartori2789033.025-10523.8154-36342.4127-18767.941-1321736.49188128297146017.0
Taylor Claggett2789933.30-00.0101-19551.8110-17264.072-1492218.258626882431211.6
Shayna Litman2782630.60-10.0117-29339.966-8577.637-1121495.565276941730011.1
Sara Simovic2680931.129-9729.975-21035.743-5972.99-85943.67657773192228.5
Sydney Williams2776828.457-18530.871-23030.911-1861.130-871174.34722412302107.8
Jessica Zawada2730111.19-3625.023-7530.715-2657.710-25351.326143606702.6
Amanda Thompson2747517.68-2927.619-6230.616-2564.017-35521.940163236622.3
Victoria Jacobse2628911.18-2729.615-4831.29-1464.310-36461.8271725313471.8
Amelia Worrell17663.91-714.32-1811.10-00.04-480.55550250.3
Jessica Cameron14584.10-00.02-540.00-00.03-360.46261040.3
Katherine Holden362.00-20.00-20.00-00.00-110.30000000.0
Veronica Kobes492.20-00.00-20.00-20.02-130.80010000.0
* Team Totals275396199.9137-48928.0579-150338.5397-58867.5235-67090533.544131048853188169262.7

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Kayli Sartori2064932.518-8022.5107-27538.996-14964.433-1071407.0696497206032816.4
Taylor Claggett2067633.8  80-15352.377-12362.655-1121678.342464871923711.8
Shayna Litman2060530.20-10.076-20337.451-6381.028-761045.246195311520310.2
Sara Simovic1958830.926-7435.163-16238.931-3979.54-64683.65545582161839.6
Sydney Williams2056128.142-13830.455-17232.06-1250.022-74964.83218292271587.9
Jessica Zawada2022411.28-3026.719-5932.210-2050.09-21301.521729 5562.8
Amanda Thompson2035017.56-2128.615-5626.813-1776.514-25391.931112834492.5
Victoria Jacobse2023411.75-2123.810-3727.08-1266.79-30391.9211422311331.6
Amelia Worrell14564.01-520.02-1315.4  2-350.4445 250.4
Jessica Cameron11444.0  1-333.3  2-350.5615  20.2
Katherine Holden242.0      0-110.5     00.0
Veronica Kobes362.0  0-10.0  0-110.3  1  00.0
* Team Totals203997199.8106-37028.6428-113437.7292-43567.1178-51769534.832722937538159125462.7

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Kayli Sartori31 on Jan 6, 2017 vs MacEwan11 on Nov 26, 2016 vs UNBC9 on Nov 26, 2016 vs UNBC
Shayna Litman23 on Feb 10, 2017 vs UBC Okanagan11 on Feb 19, 2017 vs Calgary4 on Jan 28, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers
Sara Simovic22 on Feb 4, 2017 vs Victoria8 on Jan 12, 2017 vs Calgary7 on Nov 11, 2016 vs Trinity Western
Sydney Williams21 on Jan 13, 2017 vs Calgary9 on Dec 2, 2016 vs Brandon4 on Jan 27, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers
Taylor Claggett20 on Feb 11, 2017 vs UBC Okanagan16 on Jan 7, 2017 vs MacEwan7 on Jan 12, 2017 vs Calgary
Amanda Thompson10 on Dec 2, 2016 vs Brandon4 on Jan 7, 2017 vs MacEwan3 on Feb 19, 2017 vs Calgary
Victoria Jacobse8 on Feb 25, 2017 vs Saskatchewan6 on Feb 10, 2017 vs UBC Okanagan2 on Nov 11, 2016 vs Trinity Western
Jessica Zawada7 on Jan 27, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers5 on Jan 27, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers3 on Feb 24, 2017 vs Saskatchewan
Amelia Worrell3 on Jan 27, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers3 on Jan 27, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers1 on Nov 25, 2016 vs UNBC
Jessica Cameron2 on Oct 14, 2016 vs UBC2 on Jan 27, 2017 vs Thompson Rivers1 on Oct 14, 2016 vs UBC
Katherine Holden 1 on Nov 12, 2016 vs Trinity Western 
Veronica Kobes 2 on Oct 14, 2016 vs UBC 


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com