Login |
U Sports Hoops — Men
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Past Seasons Teams Records Awards Championships Pros Search & More Contact Women's site

Saskatchewan Huskies - 1985-86 Season    <<Previous season    Next season>>

Head Coach:Guy Vetrie (7th season)
League:Canada West

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
4-60.400778-77177.8 - 77.119-160.5432747-266478.5 - 76.120-190.5133042-298278.0 - 76.5

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtWtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Rob Cherneski   
 John Cleland Guard6-1 Saskatoon, SKMount Royal Collegiate
 Tim Conlin   
 John Dewar Guard  
 Greg Jockims Forward6-5 Saskatoon, SKMount Royal Collegiate
 Kirk Jones Forward6-43Saskatoon, SKHoly Cross High
 David Karwacki Guard  
 Dean Lavoie   
 Ken Ostertag  Saskatoon, SKHoly Cross High
 Mark Peters   
 Rob Regnier   
 Sheldon Ryma Forward  
 Byron Tokarchuk Centre6-9255 Saskatoon, SKWalter Murray Collegiate

Awards presented

Byron Tokarchuk Canada West Second Team All-Star, First Team All-Canadian

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Oct 25, 1985Winnipeg, MBWinnipegWin89-85  
Sat Oct 26, 1985Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss89-95  
Fri Nov 1, 1985Saskatoon, SKReginaWin90-65StatsIronman Classic
Sat Nov 2, 1985Saskatoon, SKAlbertaWin88-72 Ironman Classic
Sun Nov 3, 1985Saskatoon, SKMaryWin96-83  
Mon Nov 4, 1985Saskatoon, SKMaryLoss79-88  
Fri Nov 8, 1985Regina, SKLakeheadWin87-59 Cougar Classic
Sat Nov 9, 1985Regina, SKCalgaryLoss69-87 Cougar Classic
Fri Nov 15, 1985Brandon, MBBrandonWin90-84  
Sat Nov 16, 1985Brandon, MBBrandonLoss76-91  
Tue Nov 19, 1985Saskatoon, SKReginaLoss72-76Stats 
Fri Nov 22, 1985Saskatoon, SKManitobaLoss81-83  
Sat Nov 23, 1985Saskatoon, SKManitobaLoss84-89  
Fri Nov 29, 1985Edmonton, ABWesternWin64-62 Golden Bear Invitational
Sat Nov 30, 1985Edmonton, ABWinnipegWin70-61 Golden Bear Invitational
Sun Dec 1, 1985Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin79-74 Golden Bear Invitational
Fri Dec 6, 1985Bismarck, NDMaryLoss55-71  
Sat Dec 7, 1985Bismarck, NDMaryLoss65-76  
Fri Dec 27, 1985Winnipeg, MBBrandonWin77-70 Wesmen Classic
Sat Dec 28, 1985Winnipeg, MBManitobaLoss57-80 Wesmen Classic
Sun Dec 29, 1985Winnipeg, MBYorkWin101-73 Wesmen Classic
Sun Jan 5, 1986Saskatoon, SKYorkWin83-63  
Tue Jan 7, 1986Regina, SKReginaWin89-83OT, StatsMayor's Cup Challenge
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Jan 10, 1986Saskatoon, SKVictoriaLoss70-79  
Sat Jan 11, 1986Saskatoon, SKUBCWin88-63  
Fri Jan 17, 1986Calgary, ABCalgaryLoss70-86  
Sat Jan 18, 1986Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss78-88  
Sat Jan 25, 1986Saskatoon, SKAlbertaLoss71-72  
Sat Feb 1, 1986Edmonton, ABAlbertaWin73-71  
Fri Feb 7, 1986Victoria, BCVictoriaLoss74-78Stats 
Sat Feb 8, 1986Vancouver, BCUBCLoss69-76  
Fri Feb 14, 1986Saskatoon, SKCalgaryWin93-81  
Sat Feb 15, 1986Saskatoon, SKLethbridgeWin92-77  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sat Feb 22, 1986Victoria, BCVictoriaWin78-76 Canada West Semifinal
Sat Mar 1, 1986Lethbridge, ABLethbridgeLoss76-86 Canada West Final
Fri Mar 7, 1986Saskatoon, SKDalhousieWin67-64 CIAU Regional Semifinal
Sat Mar 8, 1986Saskatoon, SKManitobaWin72-59 CIAU Regional Championship
Fri Mar 14, 1986Halifax, NSVictoriaLoss70-78 CIAU Semifinal
Sat Mar 15, 1986Halifax, NSWesternLoss71-78 CIAU Consolation Final

Season scoring summary for league games only

PlayerGPMinsMpg3 PtField GoalsFree ThrowsReboundsRPGPFAToBlStPtsPPG
Byron Tokarchuk10    68-12654.039-5570.935-54898.933    17517.5
Kirk Jones10    52-11047.317-2665.413-28414.122    12112.1
Greg Jockims10    49-5983.112-1963.212-15272.734    11011.0
Sheldon Ryma10    38-8146.98-1172.713-26393.927    848.4
David Karwacki10    34-7545.314-1877.84-9131.332    828.2
John Dewar10    30-5950.89-1369.24-20242.428    696.9
John Cleland10    24-7034.319-2382.64-24282.831    676.7
Mark Peters10    20-3951.39-1464.34-14181.815    494.9
Ken Ostertag7    3-742.93-475.02-350.72    91.3
Rob Regnier10    2-540.04-580.01-340.45    80.8
Rob Cherneski5      3-475.01-010.2     30.6
Tim Conlin9    0-10.01-250.00-330.31    10.1
* Team Totals10    320-63250.6138-19471.193-19929229.2230    77877.8

Season individual bests vs U SPORTS teams for all players

PlayerMost pointsMost reboundsMost assists
Byron Tokarchuk   


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com