Login |
U Sports Hoops — Women
University Basketball in Canada
provided by Martin Timmerman
Current Season Teams People Championships Awards More History Contact Men's site

Guelph Gryphons - 1979-80 Season

Head Coach:Karen Lee (4th season)
Other staff: Kate Hull (Manager)
League:OWIAA Tier One

Summary of team record for the season

Conference RecordCIAU RecordOverall Record
W-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPGW-LPctPointsPPG
12-01.000773-53064.4 - 44.221-40.8401530-119861.2 - 47.926-60.8121793-140656.0 - 43.9

Player roster

NoPlayerPosHtEligHometownHigh School (Prior Team)
 Judy Antonio   
 Maryon Bruyn Guard  
 Ruth Carmichael   
 Linda Jolie Forward  
 Ingrid Kihl Forward5-8 Ottawa, ON 
 Sue Lindley Guard Hamilton, ONAncaster High
 Jan McMullan Forward  
 Anne Miller Guard  
 Holly Raddysh   
11Candi Clarkson Lohr Jirik Forward6-0 Hamilton, ONAncaster High

Awards presented

Karen Lee OUA Coach of the Year
Candi Clarkson Lohr Jirik OUA Tier One First Team All-Star, CIS First Team All-Canadian
Linda Jolie OUA Tier One First Team All-Star
Sue Lindley OUA Tier One Second Team All-Star

Game results for the season

--- Non-Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Guelph overall record of 23-4 before playoffs
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownUnknownWin2-0 For Guelph overall record of 23-4 before playoffs
Sun Jul 1, 1979UnknownUnknownLoss0-2 For Guelph overall record of 23-4 before playoffs
Fri Oct 26, 1979Guelph, ONConcordiaWin72-37 Gryphon Invitational
Fri Oct 26, 1979Guelph, ONWinnipegWin62-53 Gryphon Invitational
Sat Oct 27, 1979Guelph, ONCanisiusWin84-50 Gryphon Invitational
Thu Nov 29, 1979Montreal, QCVanier CollegeWin62-41 Concordia Classic
Fri Nov 30, 1979Montreal, QCDalhousieLoss41-52 Concordia Classic
Sat Dec 1, 1979Montreal, QCSouthern ConnecticutWin56-50 Concordia Classic
Fri Dec 28, 1979Regina, SKSaskatchewanWin78-58 Queen City Classic
Sat Dec 29, 1979Regina, SKVictoriaLoss45-66 Queen City Classic
Sun Dec 30, 1979Regina, SKReginaWin70-44 Queen City Classic
Thu Jan 3, 1980Saskatoon, SKAlbertaWin53-46 Huskiette Invitational
Fri Jan 4, 1980Saskatoon, SKSimon FraserLoss57-65 Huskiette Invitational
Sat Jan 5, 1980Saskatoon, SKSaskatchewanWin58-54 Huskiette Invitational
--- Regular Season Conference Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Wed Nov 7, 1979Guelph, ONTorontoWin78-59  
Sat Nov 10, 1979Sudbury, ONLaurentianWin52-41  
Thu Nov 15, 1979Guelph, ONWesternWin52-48  
Wed Nov 21, 1979Waterloo, ONWaterlooWin79-43  
Fri Nov 23, 1979UnknownQueensWin74-49  
Sat Nov 24, 1979UnknownQueensWin74-49  
Wed Jan 9, 1980Toronto, ONTorontoWin53-41  
Tue Jan 15, 1980London, ONWesternWin50-47  
Sat Jan 26, 1980Ottawa, ONOttawaWin62-32  
Sat Feb 2, 1980Guelph, ONWaterlooWin73-54  
Fri Feb 8, 1980Guelph, ONLaurentianWin51-36  
Sat Feb 9, 1980Guelph, ONOttawaWin75-31  
--- Playoff Games ---
DateLocationOpponentResult Comment
Fri Feb 29, 1980Guelph, ONYorkWin60-42 OWIAA Semifinal
Sat Mar 1, 1980Guelph, ONLaurentianWin66-40 OWIAA Championship
Thu Mar 6, 1980Halifax, NSLaurentianLoss37-47 CIAU Quarterfinal
Fri Mar 7, 1980Halifax, NSWinnipegWin61-59 CIAU Consolation Semifinal
Sat Mar 8, 1980Halifax, NSBishopsLoss54-70 CIAU Consolation Final


Statistical information maintained by Martin Timmerman. Please provide feedback to: MartinTimmerman@gmail.com